What to do when you are sexually harassed

China is buzzing over last week’s arrest of a nationally prominent CEO for sexual harassment. Turns out that 宋山木 (Song Shanmu), CEO of the popular national training organization, 山木培训 (Sunmoon Education Group), had repeatedly raped several of his young female employees. He was arrested only because one brave 22-year-old finally reported him to the police.

The familiar Shan Mu Pei Xun company logo and bearded image of its CEO, Song Shanmu

All the attention to this case has led some GlobalRenCai blog readers to ask me “What should I do when I am sexually harassed?”

4 out of 5 Chinese women have been sexually harassed

When it comes to sexual harassment, sadly, the question is “when” rather than “if.” According to a 2005 survey cited in Chinese state media, only 21% of women say they have never faced sexual harassment.

李莹 (Li Ying), the deputy director of the Centre for Women’s Law and Legal Services at Peking University, said the number of complaints was increasing as women became more aware of their legal rights. “This is a global problem, but in China there is not enough approval, understanding and tolerance,” she said.

Sexual harassment is almost never reported to the authorities, and when it is, says Li, “there aren’t clear definitions for what sexual harassment is in the court, so when a judgment is being decided it is hard for the judge.”
Li added that companies in China are not yet held responsible for the harassment of staff as they are in other countries.

I was harassed once, early in my career, by the CEO of the company I worked for at the time. Whenever he saw me alone, he would come up from behind me and start kissing and licking my ears and neck. Just the memory of that still makes my skin crawl. And I remember how nervous and powerless I felt whenever I was at work. The only way I knew how to end the harassment was to quickly find a new job and leave the company, which is what I did.

What should you do when harassed?

Two decades on, I wish the world had changed enough so that when harassed, women have better options than to leave a job. I wrestled with how to advise you in this situation, and so consulted with a few of my friends around the world.

My friend Annemieke van der Werff, a global talent who most recently served as a HR chief for the global retail bank at HSBC, is one of those principled corporate leaders who’s focused on ensuring that her companies recruit the best people and have the culture to keep them there. Annemieke suggests that if you are harassed, you confront your boss, and then also report him to his boss and to his HR manager.

She cautions, though, that the HR department is not that strong in all companies, and there are situations where you will have no choice but to leave.

Companies often protect their own managers and not their employees
The atmosphere at foreign companies is not necessarily better than at Chinese ones. According to one of my friends who is a well-known Beijing-based management consultant to foreign companies:

  • “If a woman goes to HR with a problem, it is most likely that the company will protect the manager and alienate the victim. Most likely the woman making the complaint will see her career (promotion prospects) suffer;
  • Even in a foreign company it is more likely that the company would get a foreign manager out of the country before risk him having to go to prison in China. I worked on a case with a company a couple of years ago where this was indeed done after a woman brought a charge against a western manager;
  • Also, once a woman goes public with a case it is likely that other future employers will not hire her as she might be perceived as a trouble maker.”

A sobering assessment. This issue is so sensitive that my friend asked me not to use his name or the name of his firm. Another friend I asked, a prominent Beijing Chinese HR manager who has worked for both foreign and local companies, also cautions that HR departments may not be reliable in protecting you, and that your first step should be to take all steps to protect yourself when this does happen.

Stop the harassment without harming your career

If you are sexually harassed, and there is someone in power in HR whom you feel you can trust, like my friend Annemieke, I suggest you confidentially report the harassment to him or her.

But more often that will not be the case. So in general, I suggest that you focus on how to stop the harassment without harming your career. I reluctantly endorse the advice I read years ago in a U.S. newspaper:

  1. Have a frank conversation with your harasser. Be specific about what behavior is making you uncomfortable. Tell him that you prefer not to go to HR about it. He won’t want that either, because no matter how arrogant he is, he’ll not want to get into a messy he-said, she-said situation with you.
  2. Lay out your negotiating position. Aim high. You want his help to transfer to a better position in the company, with a different boss, or you want his help in finding a better job outside of the company.
  3. If the balance of power is not in your favor, and you get nowhere negotiating, find a new job and leave the offending company — in that order — because it’s always easier to find a job when you have a job.
  4. Do take the steps needed to protect yourself, which may in the end require leaving the company, reporting the harassment to HR or company management or even to the police.

It is clearly unjust for the onus to fall on you to single-handedly right the wrong that’s been done to you. And for me, whose work as a headhunter is to help my clients build great and lasting companies, I hate to advocate a solution which tolerates abuse and thus does not contribute to building great or lasting companies.

However, my priority with this blog post is you, and protecting you if and when you are harassed. To that end, I have to agree with my friends who counsel that we don’t yet live in a world where we all can trust our employers to do the right thing when alerted to sexual harassment in their ranks. And so the truth is that if you are harassed, there is a likelihood that ultimately your best course will be to quietly leave your company, as I once did many years ago.

There is plenty to do in this world that does not require you to work in an environment where you are being harassed.  There are plenty of men out there who value a work environment which respects women. Find those men and work with them. Then, accumulate power in your career and create the kind of a workplace culture you believe in.

Comments in English and Chinese are welcome, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

do not marry before age 30
The world is shifting radically. Global Rencai is an advice blog on the new rules of the game. Global Rencai is pronounced “global ren-tsai” and means “global talent” in Chinglish. Its author, Joy Chen (陈愉), is a Chinese-American former Deputy Mayor of Los Angeles turned global corporate headhunter. To subscribe to the blog, enter your email address at www.globalrencai.com.

男女必知

当你遭受性骚扰时该怎么办?

大家熟悉的山木培训招牌和它的大胡子CEO,性骚扰员工的宋山木

中国上个星期发生了一件沸沸扬扬的事,一所全国知名培训机构的CEO性骚扰下属。山木培训的CEO宋山木被发现曾经对多名下属进行过性侵犯。多亏了一个22岁的年轻女员工报案,使他最终被绳之以法。

关注这个案件之余,不少GlobalRenCai的读者也问我:“被性侵犯时该怎么办?”

中国五个女人中就有四个曾经面对过性骚扰

很不幸的是,当提到性骚扰这个话题时,人们说的更多的是“何时发生过”,而不是“如果未来发生”。一个2005年 被官方媒体引用的调查显示,只有21%的受访女性表示她们从未被性骚扰过。

北京大学妇女法律研究与服务中心副主任李莹,随着妇女法律意识的提高,中心收到的性骚扰投诉也在增加。“这是一个全球性的问题,可惜在中国,这个问题还没有得到足够的重视、理解和宽容。”她说。

李莹说,性骚扰事件基本不会上报至政府层面,而即使被立案受理了,“在法庭上对性骚扰也没有清晰的界定,所以法官也很难做判决。”

李莹还补充说,中国的公司还不像其他国家的公司那样,需要对员工遭受性骚扰负责。

我曾经被骚扰过一次。那时我才刚刚开始工作,那个公司的CEO只要看到我一个人在工作,他就会从后面靠过来亲我的耳朵和脖子。现在想起来这些我还会起鸡皮疙瘩浑身不自在。我还记得当时那种紧张和无助的感觉,我知道的唯一办法是赶快换一份工作,离开那个公司。后来我也真的辞去了那份工作。

如果你被性骚扰了该怎么做?

二十年后的今天,我希望世道已经有所改变,女性受到侵犯时能找到比离职更好的办法。我非常希望能够在这方面给予广大女性一些建议,所以我广泛地咨询了在世界各地的朋友。

我的朋友Annemieke van der Werff最近在汇丰全球零售银行担任人事部主管。她算是非常严谨的公司负责人,确保她辖下的公司能招聘到最优秀的人才,而且公司文化能留住他们。Annemieke建议如果你被性骚扰,你要勇于直面骚扰你的人,同时把他的恶行报告给他的老板还有人事部门主管。

不过她也提醒,不是所有公司的人事部门都很强势,所以往往你还是要做好走人的准备。

公司通常会保护他们的管理人员而不是员工

外企的环境不一定就比国内公司好。一个在北京管理咨询业界很有名气的朋友有以下几条心得:

  • 如果一名被性骚扰困扰的女员工去人事部门反应情况,这个公司往往会保护那个骚扰人的上司而疏远受害者。而这个女员工很有可能就晋升无望了。
  • 即使是在中国的外企,公司也往往会设法把这个骚扰者调到其他国家,而不是让他在中国等着蹲监狱。几年前我曾经处理过这样的案子,那个公司真的在女员工起诉后把那个性骚扰她的老外上司调离中国了。
  • 另一种可能的情况是,一旦一个女员工公开起诉性骚扰她的上司,以后的雇主们也不会想雇她了,因为她会被视为是喜欢捣乱的人。

以上都是非常理智的分析。由于话题敏感,我的朋友希望我不要写出他的名字和他所在的公司。而我的另一个朋友也提醒说人事部不一定能给受害者提供保护,而你首先要做的是采取一切方法保护自己。这个朋友是一个知名的人事经理,在外企和国内企业都工作过。

在不妨碍事业的前提下防止制止性骚扰

如果你被性骚扰,而人事部又有一个强势的而且你能信任的主管,像我的朋友Annemieke,我建议你私下把骚扰的事情报告给这个主管。

但事实上世事常常事与愿违,人事主管不一定都强势且值得信任。那在这种情况下,我建议你找到一个办法中止这种伤害,同时又不危及你的事业。以下是几年前我在美国的报纸里看到的。至于有效性,只能说是仁者见仁,智者见智了。

  1. 和骚扰你的人开诚布公地谈一下,清楚具体地指出来哪些行为让你不舒服,告诉他你不想把这事报到人事部那里去。他也不会想这种事情发生,因为无论他怎样自以为是,他也不想被人抓住话柄,陷入麻烦。
  2. 借这次机会提出你的条件,期望得高些。你让他把你调到一个更好的位置,换一个主管,或者你让他帮你找到一份更好的新工作。
  3. 如果情势对你不利,你没有任何谈判的筹码,那就重新找一份工作,离开这个公司——按照这样的顺序做——因为骑驴找马往往更容易。
  4. 就算这最终会导致你离开公司, 你也一定要采取必要的措施保护你自己,比如把性骚扰报告给人事部门或公司主管,甚至警察。

让你孤立无援地承担发生在你身上事,这显然是不公平的。作为一个帮助客户建立成功持久公司的猎头来说,我最不愿意给出的建议就是看到弱者受到伤害,这对建立良好的可持续发展的企业是百害无一利的。

但是,我这篇博客首先要替着想,特别是在你即将或已经受到伤害的时候保护你。就这方面来说,我不得不同意我朋友们的建议。毕竟我们现在没法完全信任我们的雇主,我们没法保证他们在听到同级别的人做了性骚扰的事后,能够为我们受害者主持公道。所以如果你被性骚扰的话,很有可能最后你还是得安静走人,就像我许多年前那样。

这个世界上有很多事情可做,你完全没必要一直呆在一个有人骚扰你的公司。也有很多男士重视他们所处的工作环境是尊重女性的。找到这样的男士并和他们一起工作,然后在工作中慢慢积累你的实力和影响力,最后建立起一个你想要的工作环境。

Discussion

5 Responses to “当你遭受性骚扰时该怎么办?”

  1. Joy Chen in Beijing, 1/3: sexual harassment in office/workplace discussion (in English) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iz07DFm3FDU

    Posted by DD | 2010-06-25, 05:38
  2. Oh, its an edited version focusing mainly on what you had to say, Joy, as I thought that was most important. Check the China.org.cn link under the video for the full version (its also on CCTV’s Crossover)

    Posted by DD | 2010-07-07, 21:47
  3. BTW, tks for yr kind PM + it was great to see your lovely baby Pip looking so happy ‘squeakin’ n giggling on YouKu (a superior vdo website, hah)

    Really hope you upload some vdos of yr own on this topic too onto YT + YK, Joy. You are quite photogenic + speak well so you just need to get in front of a webcam or use your handycam at home or in the office to influence things globally….. LOL

    Posted by DD | 2010-07-22, 16:38
    • DD: Thank you for your words of encouragement! I need to get more technologically enabled, and learn how to use video better. Good thing there are people like you out there to give the rest of us inspiration!

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2010-07-23, 01:44

Post a Comment