Finding yourself

What is a soulmate?

Hi everyone! Starting with today’s blog post, I’m introducing an audiocast of this blog in English. I will read each post in English, and you can follow along in the text below. Perhaps this will be a fun way for you to practice your English with me. A big thank-you to journalist Nina Xiang for her help in getting this audiocast started.

To hear Joy read this post in English, click here.

Yoko Ono with her Wish Tree

It was 2008, and Dave and I were on our honeymoon, in Venice at the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, the beautiful museum in the Grand Canal palazzo where the American heiress Peggy Guggenheim lived and entertained the 20th century artists whom she befriended and supported.

After a couple hours viewing the collections indoors, I wandered into the garden where I came upon a small, live olive tree. Its branches were covered with fluttering slips of paper. Upon closer inspection, I found that it was a participatory-art piece inviting visitors to post a wish.  Some wishes were lofty, such as: “I wish for an end to poverty and tyranny.” Others were mundane: “I wish to get laid.”

After browsing some of the wishes that others had left, I turned to the small plaque beside the tree: “Wish Tree Venice. 2003. To Peggy with Love.Yoko Ono.”

Yoko Ono. Throughout my life, Yoko Ono has been the world’s most famous Asian woman.  I knew of her as the conceptual artist best known, and carelessly vilified, as the woman who broke up the Beatles.

John and Yoko: One of the great love stories of our time

John and Yoko

It was 1966, and John Lennon had been invited to the Indica Gallery in Central London for the private preview of a one-woman show. As he later told Playboy magazine, the purpose of his visit was not entirely for artistic interest. He’d been enticed by the gallery’s co-owner, who’d told him about a performance that would be taking place involving the artist, a Japanese woman from New York, in a black bag. That sounded to him like something to do with sex, and so he went.

At the gallery was one of Yoko’s early participatory-art pieces, a white board with nails in it and a sign inviting visitors to hammer a nail into its surface.

Since the show was not beginning until the next day, Yoko refused to allow John to hammer in a nail.

The gallery owner whisked her aside, saying, “Don’t you know who that is? He’s a millionaire!”

She returned to John and said he could hammer in a nail for five shillings.

He famously retorted, “I’ll give you an imaginary five shillings if you let me hammer in an imaginary nail.”

Their connection was instantaneous. John was 26. Yoko was 33.

They were not a traditional couple. John was born from a blue-collar family and became an overnight superstar. Yoko was the disappointing child of a famous Japanese banking family dismayed by her friendships with the avant-garde artists who represented the freedom she herself sought.

After The Beatles disbanded, John and Yoko lived and created music in London and then in New York. Their son Sean was born in 1975 on John’s 35th birthday. Following the birth of their son, John and Yoko lived in relative seclusion until one evening in 1980 when John was murdered by a deranged fan in front of their home with Yoko and their son inside.

Yoko Ono: A ground-breaking artist in her own right

Many people still blame Yoko for the break-up of The Beatles, disregarding the intense and passionate love that held John and Yoko together, and disregarding Yoko’s own ground-breaking work as an artist.

Here are some recollections about her from art-world luminaries:

Yoko felt that an Asian woman was seen as a dragon lady or an obedient slave—nothing in between the extremes. There were countless racist remarks in the press, especially after the breakup of the Beatles, but she has overcome it over many years. She has made a great contribution in changing the world’s view of Asian women in general. She has consistently projected an image of a self-aware, confident, creative, and strong-willed woman.
—Midori Yoshimoto, professor of art history

I do not know any other contemporary artist who has remained as relevant in so many different eras. She clearly doesn’t give a shit about maintaining status in the art world, receiving awards, or being recognized. She simply wants to make smart, inclusive work that makes the world a better place. Waking up in New York every morning makes me happy, knowing she is waking up here, too.
—Kathleen Hanna, musician

The most surprising thing about Yoko Ono is her courage to be positive. [She] turns negative power into positive power, and it’s very akin to martial arts…. You take the oppositional, negative death energy, and you transform that into a life force. She doesn’t attack back; she just changes the ground of the criticism. —Alexandra Munroe, senior curator, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and author of YES Yoko Ono

My relationship with Yoko Ono

I’ve never met Yoko Ono in person, but she’s always been a presence in my life.

I started at Duke as a marine-biology major, and when I traversed rural North Carolina on my commutes to the Duke Marine Lab, I’d stop in tiny restaurants where people had never before met an Asian. Conversation would stop and heads would swivel in my direction. Time to play cultural ambassador.  Sometimes they’d ask me where I was from and if I could speak English. Other times they’d ask if I was related to the one Asian woman whose name they knew.

“No. Yoko Ono is Japanese. I am Chinese. We’re different.”

So, it was after having long been associated with Yoko Ono that suddenly on a sunlit 2008 afternoon in Venice, I gazed at the work of this most famous of Asian women.

I imagined her standing there beside me, and I wondered what she herself wished for.  I reflected on the legendary love of John and Yoko, and I wished upon a tree that my new marriage with Dave would flourish as theirs once did.

My wish has been granted. When Dave and I first married, I thought that I could not love another person more than I loved Dave. But each year, our love has continued to deepen. We’ve since been graced with the arrival of two baby girls who make our hearts burst. But at the core of our family is still just the two of us.

What is a soulmate? Do you get just one?

Love is only the starting point for a soulmate
relationship. That’s because a lifetime commitment is nothing like
dating. In fact, marriage is like a mundane small business in which
you are co-partners and co-employees

I believe that each of us has several potential soulmates out there. As a headhunter, you need to choose the one to whom you’ll bind your life forever.  A soulmate relationship requires two things. Consuming love, plus a lifetime commitment.

It all starts with love, passionate love. When you are with your partner, your heart sings. The world is a brighter and more joyful place. You’d rather be with this person than with any other person in your world.

But love is not enough for a soulmate relationship. This can be really confusing because falling in love feels so intoxicating. No other experience is quite as fun or quite as exhilarating.  And we can fall in love well before we’re mature enough to evaluate someone as a potential soulmate. Teenagers can fall in love with passion and abandon.

But love is only the starting point for a soulmate relationship. That’s because a lifetime commitment is nothing like dating. In fact, marriage is like a mundane small business in which you are co-partners and co-employees. This actually can be really nice, if you hitch yourself to the right partner.

For the company to succeed, you and he must agree on the direction of your company and the values by which it will run. You must believe in each other completely and trust in each other’s good judgment. You must figure out how your company will make money and how to spend it. You must identify what tasks must be done and who will do what. Unlike in any other small business, however, you both must commit to being co-owners and co-employees in this company for the rest of your days on Earth.

A great marriage is like a miracle

Marriage is a choice, but it’s not like any other choice. Given the advances in medical science, you may live into your 90s, so before deciding on a soulmate, it’s really important that you feel that you have the wisdom and maturity to make the commitment of a lifetime. .

At first, you’re two independent people. When you make the decision to commit your future together, you start to intertwine your lives. Over time, your bond becomes symbiotic, like yin and yang. It’s over time that you become soulmates.

A great marriage is like a miracle in your life. It is that sacred, and you both make it sacred by dedicating yourself to each other every day.

There is nothing better.

 

I welcome your comments, in English or Chinese, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

“现代生活”专栏

什么是灵魂伴侣?

大家好!从今天开始,我将增设博客的英文朗读这一栏目,我将用英文朗读我的每篇博文并把音频文件的链接放在博客页面上。大家可以边看博客文章,边听我的英文朗读。我想这可以给大家提供一个很好玩的练习英文的机会。在此要感谢我的读者朋友Nina Xiang,她是一位记者,她的专业技能帮助我开创了这个栏目。

听陈愉用英文朗读这篇博文,请点击 这里。阅读此博文的英文链接,请点击这里

小野洋子和许愿树

那是2008年,Dave和我正在威尼斯度蜜月,双双沉浸在Peggy Guggenheim收藏的艺术品中。这些艺术品的作者多是美国女继承人Peggy Guggenheim结交或资助的朋友。这个博物馆坐落在大运河宫殿地带,正是Guggenheim居住和招待她的艺术家朋友的地方。

在室内观赏了几个小时的收藏品后,我溜达到了一个花园,看到了一颗小橄榄树。这是一件参与式艺术作品,邀请参观者往树上系一个心愿。树枝上已经系满了心愿。有的心愿很崇高,比如:“我希望终结贫穷和暴政。”其他的则很私密,比如:“我希望有床可上。”

在阅读了其他人留下的一些心愿后,我转向了树旁的一个小木牌:“威尼斯心愿树。2003年。 满怀爱意献给Peggy。小野洋子。”

小野洋子。

我当然听说过小野洋子。在我那个年代,她是世界上最著名的亚裔女人。她以概念艺术家而闻名,更因被当作导致披头士解散的女人而饱受不经意的中伤。

洋子与列侬

约翰和洋子:世上最伟大的爱情故事之一

那是1966年,约翰·列侬受邀到伦敦中部的因迪卡美术馆观看一个即将上演的女性独角戏的预演。正如他后来告诉《花花公子》杂志的那样,那次预演之旅的目的不完全是为了艺术上的兴趣。他是受到美术馆合伙人的怂恿,那个人告诉他这个表演是由一个艺术家——一个来自纽约的日本女人——在一个黑袋子中完成的。这番话在他听来,就像是件与性有关的事,于是他就去了。

在美术馆中摆着洋子早期的意见参与式艺术作品——一个钉着钉子的白板,和一个邀请参观者用斧子往白板表面钉一个钉子的标语。由于表演第二天才开始,洋子不肯让约翰钉钉子。美术馆的合伙人把她推到一旁,说:“你不知道他是谁吗?他是个百万富翁啊!”

走回约翰身边后,她说他可以花五先令钉一个钉子。他给出了著名的反驳:“如果你让我钉一个假想的钉子,我就给你五个假想的先令。”

他们瞬间被对方吸引了。之后就开始了现代历史上最强烈、最热情的一段罕见爱情。那年约翰26岁,洋子33岁。

他们不是一对传统的恋人。约翰出生在一个蓝领家庭,一夜成名,成了巨星。洋子却是一个著名日本银行家世家的后代。她的家人对她与先锋艺术家、诗人和同样追求自由的朋友为伍而感到很沮丧。

披头士解散后,约翰和洋子先是在伦敦、而后在纽约生活,做音乐。他们的儿子西恩在1975年、约翰35岁的生日出生。随着儿子的出生,约翰和洋子开始相对隐世地生活,直到1980年的一个夜晚约翰在家门前被一个精神错乱的歌迷谋杀。那时,洋子和他们的儿子还呆在屋里。

小野洋子:一个具有独特开拓性的艺术家

许多人仍然把披头士的解散怪到小野洋子的头上,却无视将约翰和洋子维系在一起的热情炽烈的爱,无视洋子自身作为艺术家所做的开拓性工作。艺术世界的杰出人物对于她的一些反思:

洋子觉得亚裔女人过去要么被看作母夜叉,要么被看作顺从的奴隶——却永远不会落在这两个极端之间。特别是在披头士解散后,媒体上有数不尽的种族主义评论。但是多年来她克服了这些障碍。她为从整体上改变世界对亚洲女人的看法作出了很大的贡献。她一直都在投射一个有自知之明、自信、创新、坚强的女性形象。
—Midori Yoshimoto,艺术历史教授

没有哪个我认识的当代艺术家能够在这么多不同的领域持续发挥如此重要的作用。她很显然对于在艺术世界维持地位、领取奖项、受到认可毫不在乎。她只是想要创造出充满智慧、包罗万象的作品,让世界变得更好。每个早晨在纽约醒来都让我感到快乐,因为我知道每个早晨她也是在这里醒来的。
—Kathleen Hanna,音乐家

关于小野洋子最惊人的一点就是她保持积极的勇气。(她)能将消极的力量转变为积极的力量,这和武术非常像……你接手的是对立的、消极的死亡能量,但你把它转化成一种生命的力量。她没有反击;她只是改变了批评的战场。—Alexandra Munroe,the Solomon R. Guggenheim博物馆高级馆长,YES Yoko Ono的作者。

我和小野洋子的故事

我在杜克大学攻读海洋生物学的时候,经常需要在北卡的远郊和学校的海洋实验室之间往返,途中有一家很小的当地咖啡馆,那里的人几乎没有见过亚洲人。人们经常要过来跟我聊几句。而对于我而言,这是一个充当文化使者的时刻。有时候他们会问我从哪里来,是否会说英文,还有的时候他们会问我是不是跟小野洋子有关系,那是他们叫得出名字的亚洲女人之一。

“不,我跟小野洋子没有任何关系。她是日本人,我是中国人。我们来自不同的国家。”

在总被人误会跟小野洋子有关系的很多年之后,2008年威尼斯的这个下午,我才终于有机会近距离的欣赏她的作品。

我禁不住想象,她此刻就在旁边,将她的心愿系在树上,我真想知道,她会许下什么愿望!我也禁不住回想着约翰与洋子之间传奇的爱情,在树上留下我的心愿:希望我和Dave 崭新的婚姻能够像他们的婚姻一样开花结果。

我的愿望成真了。当我们刚刚结婚时,我想我大概没法像爱Dave那样深爱另一个人。但年复一年,我们的爱持续增长,日趋丰满。从那以后我们如受恩赐,先后迎接了两个宝贝女儿的诞生。每次看到她们,我们就心花怒放。但家庭的核心仍然是我们两个人。

什么是灵魂伴侣?你只得到一个吗?

“爱”的感觉只是寻找灵魂伴侣的开始。因为一生的承诺不是浪漫的约会那么简单。事实上,婚姻就像是经营一个小公司,你跟你的另一半既是合伙人、又是雇员。

我相信我们每个人在世上都有几个潜在的灵魂伴侣。作为一个猎头,你要选择一个你愿意将生命永远与之相系的人。灵魂伴侣意味着既有激情的爱,又有一生的承诺和责任,两者缺一不可。

灵魂伴侣发源于爱,激情的爱;当你与他/她在一起时,你的心如同在歌唱,充满动人的旋律。世界都因此而变得更为美好。你恨不得分分秒秒都与他/她在一起,其它人都不再重要。

但是这样的激情和爱并不足称之为灵魂伴侣。这的确让人迷惑——因为爱情是如此的让人迷醉。再没有什么比爱情更能让人欣喜若狂的了。我们也往往在还不够成熟的判断一个人是否能成为灵魂伴侣之前,就陷入爱河了。十几岁的孩子就开始恋爱了,常常爱得激情忘我,爱得抛下一切。

但是“爱”的感觉只是寻找灵魂伴侣的开始。因为一生的承诺不是浪漫的约会那么简单。事实上,婚姻就像是经营一个小公司,你跟你的另一半既是合伙人、又是雇员,这其实可以是一种非常美妙的关系,如果你找对了人。

想要公司成功,你们俩必须在公司的愿景和价值观上保持一致,必须彼此信任、合作无间。必须管理好公司的收入和支出,必须合理安排工作和雇员。与真正的公司经营唯一不同的是,你们俩必须用余生来承诺对方,永远保持彼此信任和支持的关系。

美好的婚姻如同奇迹

婚姻是一个选择,但和其它任何选择都不一样。随着医疗和科学的发达,人们的寿命越来越长,活到90岁是完全可能的事情。人生如此漫长,选择灵魂伴侣和一生的承诺实需慎重,它考验的是你的智慧和阅历。

起初,你们是两个独立的个体。当你作出决定,要将各自的人生托付于共同的未来时,你们开始将各自的生命交织在一起。随着时间的流逝,你们的纽带变得和谐共生,就像阴和阳。你们是在时间流逝中成为灵魂伴侣的。

美好的婚姻就像是生命中的奇迹。它是那样神圣,是因为你们每一天都将自己奉献给彼此而神圣。

这个奇迹无与伦比。

 

英文页面,请点击这里.

听陈愉用英文朗读这篇博文,请点击 这里。阅读此博文的英文链接,请点击这里

Discussion

11 Responses to “什么是灵魂伴侣?”

  1. Very nice article!

    I am so happy that there is a podcast for it, and I love your voice.

    It is not easy at all to find a soul mate, but once he/she appears, we should grab the chance:)

    I feel very lucky that my boyfriend and I are just like what you said in the article. We respect and appreciate each other, and help each other through difficulties. I enjoy this relationship very much, and hope everyone could find his/her own Ms./Mr. Right.

    Posted by Yingying | 2011-08-15, 17:48
  2. woo!!! Super good, Joy. I am really like the podcast of this artical.
    Soulmate is the one who can communicate with you via soul not only in the materail world.
    It is really hard for everyone, especially for money-oriented those. right?
    Thank you for sharing, Joy.

    Posted by Jingyi | 2011-08-15, 22:50
  3. Awesome audiocast! I really enjoyed listening to your beautiful voice, from which I found tranquility and power ! And I love your saying about soulmate – all too often we have either passionate love or boring marriage, few people have both of them – those people are blessed with wisdom and courage!

    Posted by LynnZhou | 2011-08-15, 23:43
  4. I like your voice very much,and hope some day I meet my soul mate,and live happily

    Posted by 李闪闪 | 2011-08-16, 04:48
  5. 祝福你和你的丈夫!很羡慕这种爱的感觉,我曾经品尝过,但后来发现,这种感觉越来越不容易出现了。正如你所说的,真正的爱是可以达到灵魂伴侣这个层次的,这是一种心灵的交融,而不是简单的卿卿我我或者只是为了满足肉体欲望。上帝,请告诉我,这样的她,在哪里呢。

    Posted by 李白 | 2011-08-16, 19:46
  6. 李白:非常感谢你的祝福!显然你是一位非常善于为他人着想的男士。我相信这个博客的很多女性读者都会乐于认识你!

    Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2011-08-16, 22:45
  7. 不过貌似很难找额~~~记得以前看过一个统计数据,一个人一生那么久,一定会碰到一个灵魂伴侣般的人物,也许20岁,也许40岁···只是很多人都没有耐心等到那一刻。所以就像姐姐说的,中国女性不应被传统的婚姻观念所束缚,应该不慌不忙找自己所爱,爱自己所爱。

    Posted by sky____ | 2011-09-27, 06:39
  8. 灵魂伴侣之间的爱情应该是成熟的,对生活的理解在同一层次。这样爱才不会淡去,因为激情由内而生。如果现在还达不到,那么双方就必须共同成长才行。否则幸福只是一时,很容易被外界表浅因素干扰。JOY,你一定也这样想,对吗

    Posted by SHORE | 2012-06-21, 06:32
  9. Consuming love & a lifetime commitment, it’s true. While, an interesting question is that how to know if he/she is capable to carry out his/her commitment, before I say ‘Yes, I do’. As a hunterhead, I think you are perfessional on this issue. Could you please give some tips?

    Posted by Lei Zhao | 2012-09-10, 07:50

Post a Comment