Finding yourself

The best-ever 43rd birthday present is YOU!

To hear Joy read this post in English, click here.

Joy with readers

Hi everyone!  Apologies for being away from this blog in recent weeks.  You all have been much in my heart.   My family and I spent an amazing two months in China meeting many of you.  Then we returned to L.A. where we had some rest and family fun before the girls started school.

During this time, Dave and I also celebrated our birthdays – Dave turned 46 and I turned 43.

The best birthday present that I could have hoped for is YOU.

Indeed, prior to this birthday, I’d spent over a year in seclusion, working on Do Not Marry Before Age 30, my book about finding success, happiness, and love.  Writing this book was the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  In my research, I pored through books from all walks of life.  The sciences  – neurology, psychology, sociology – and philosophy from all ages and cultures – and literature as well. So, intellectually and spiritually, it was a thrilling year.

But the year also was one of worry.  I’d put my HR business on hold to write the book so Dave had to support the family by himself. We frequently worried and wondered whether any other person would be interested in the book.  Here I was, a Chinese-American living in Los Angeles, working away at a crazy dream to make a difference in the lives of women an ocean away in China.

Would anyone there care what I had to say about the big questions of our lives?

Writing the book also forced me to confront other sorts of risks. In the book, I laid bare the things I know now that I wish I’d known when I was starting out.  My triumphs, my regrets.  The things I would do over again if only I could.  Recollections that make me laugh, memories that make me cry.

Writing this book in such a naked  and personal way felt like a very risky thing to do. After all, for years as a politician, I’d grown accustomed to cloaking my vulnerabilities.

Would readers in China cry with me, or just laugh?  Would they laugh at me or with me?  Did I have any intellectual, emotional, spiritual fellow-travelers among the women of China?

And so, it was with such relief and joy that I came to China to launch the book, and found you.  So many new sisters to welcome into my life.

In the words of the late great American writer Gore Vidal, “A book exists on many different levels. Half the work of a book is done by the reader—the more he can bring to it the better the book will be for him, the better it will be in its own terms.”  Never has this been more true than with my book.  That the book already has become a best-seller is testament to the amazing spirit and vitality of Chinese women today.

I’m pleased that the book has sold so well, but I am even more moved by the book reviews and Weibo posts I’ve seen about how the book has changed your lives.  Each one of these posts makes my heart sing.  You say my book gives you power, but it’s you who to me is “gelievable!”

For those of you outside of China who have been patiently awaiting the book, I have good news.  The Chinese version should be available worldwide by the end of September.  I’ll keep blog subscribers posted, so if you want to stay in the know, subscribe your email to my blog.

I’m currently exploring how to publish the book in English, traditional Chinese and other languages, so stay tuned for news on those editions as well.

I’m energized by the time I took off, and now I’m excited to getting back to writing.  So you can look forward to more from me on this blog and also to seeing more of me across various of China’s fashion, lifestyle and business media.

To all of you, my old and new friends, as I embark on a new year, thank you for your presence in my life.  The best gift I could have hoped for is you.  I look forward to much more fun and fascinating dialogue in the year ahead.

Meanwhile, I’ve put together a book website featuring some of the magazine and newspaper clips about the book, plus some fun photos and videos.  If you came to one of my speeches, you may even find your photo there!  Check it out at www.donotmarrybeforeage30.com.

 

Comments on this blog post are welcome, in Chinese, on the Chinese version of this blog post, here.

“现代生活”专栏

最棒的43岁生日礼物是你

陈愉和读者们在一起

大家好!抱歉最近几周我没有更新博客,但我心里一直惦记着你们。我和我的家人在中国度过了精彩的两个月,见到了你们当中的很多人。之后我们回到洛杉矶,在孩子们开学之前进行了休整,也享受了家庭时光。

在此期间,Dave和我也庆祝了我俩的生日——Dave 46岁了,我43岁了。

我所能期望的最好的生日礼物是你。

实际上,在这个生日前,我花了一年多的时间过着隐居生活,写作《30岁前别结婚》,一本关于寻找成功、幸福和爱的书。写作这本书是我做过最难的事情了。在我的研究中,我细细翻阅涉及生活各方面的书籍。科学——神经学、心理学、社会学——以及跨越各年代和文化的哲学——也包括文学。所以,从智力上和精神上来说,这是令人兴奋的一年。

但这一年也是担忧的一年。为了写书,我停下了我的人力资源工作,所以Dave必须独自支持整个家庭。我们频频担忧和疑虑到底是否会有人对这本书感兴趣。当时的我,作为一个在洛杉矶生活的华裔美国人,执着于一个疯狂的梦想,为了让大洋彼岸的中国女人们的生活发生一些改变。

那里会不会有人在意我所说的我们生活中的大问题呢?

写作这本书也迫使我战胜其他种种的风险。在书中,我坦白呈现给你的,是我如今明白了的、却多么希望在我起步时就明白的道理;我的成功,我的遗憾;我真希望能够重新来过的事,以及那些让我笑泪满唇的记忆。

我是以一种袒露内心的、极其个人的方式来写这本书的,这其实是一件非常冒险的事情。毕竟,从政几年,我早已习惯了掩盖我的软弱。

中国的读者会与我一同哭泣,或大笑吗?他们会嘲笑我,或是与我一同欢笑?在中国女性之间,是否有我智力上、情感上、精神上的同道中人?

因而,当我来到中国发布这本书时,我感到如此宽慰和愉悦,因为我找到了你。这么多值得我张开怀抱欢迎你们进入我生命的新姐妹。

已故的伟大美国作家戈尔•维达尔有言:“一本书存在于很多不同的层面。书里一半的工作由读者完成——他能带来的越多,书对他而言就越好,书本身也会越变越好。”用这句话形容我的书再恰当不过了。这本书已经成为畅销书的事实就是对当代中国女性惊人的精神与活力的证明。

我欣慰于书的良好销售,更感动于我看到的关于这本书是如何影响你们生活的书评和微博。每一段文字都让我的心灵歌唱。你们说我的书给你们力量,而对我来说你们才是最“给力”的!

身处中国境外并且耐心等待这本书的朋友们,我有一个好消息。这本书的中文版将于九月底在世界范围内销售。我会及时通知博客订阅者,所以如果你想了解最新情况,请用邮箱订阅我的博客。

目前我正在探索如何出版本书英文版、中文繁体版以及其他语言版本,所以也请关注关于这些版本的最新信息。

初试写作之时我充满活力,现如今重新提笔我更激动不已。请期待我在博客上更多的更新,以及在中国各类时尚、生活和商业媒体上见到我的身影。

致你们每个人,我的老朋友、新朋友们,在我开始新的一年征程时,谢谢你们在我生命中出现。我所能期望的最好的礼物是你。在未来的日子里,我期待更多有趣而精彩的对话。

与此同时,我为我的书建立了一个网站,包含了一些杂志和报纸报道,以及一些有意思的照片和视频。如果你参加过我的演讲,你也许会看到你自己的照片哦!请看这里:www.30suiqianbiejiehun.com.

 

听陈愉用英文朗读这篇博文,请到Global Rencai的iTunes主页上订阅,收听及下载,请点击这里。阅读此博文英文链接,请点击这里。发表评论,请用中文。

Discussion

10 Responses to “最棒的43岁生日礼物是你”

  1. 真高兴,终于又可以看到Joy你的博文! 得知你和Dave都度过了非常棒的一个生日,真的是一件开心的事情!真诚的分享你宝贵的人生经验,传递有价值的信息,并且通过文字且不仅仅局限于文字,把各种方式都拿来和大家沟通交流,那么我相信人们就一定会看到你的美丽、生动、成功和幸福,更主要的是看到一颗有社会责任使命和乐于分享、助人幸福的心!那么现在事实已经一步步再证明咯,:) 加油!期待英文版、繁体版等版本的早日出版!

    Posted by Wei Wei | 2012-09-11, 19:17
  2. 看到你更新了博客,真好!谢谢你的文字,你的坦诚,你的分享,你的书籍,喜欢你!希望可以和你有更多的交流和分享!

    Posted by Snow | 2012-09-19, 00:30
  3. Hi Joy!我看了你的30岁前别结婚,也给妈妈买了一本。真的好希望能有机会和你面对面的交流。会一直关注你,希望你带给大家更多的正能量!

    Posted by annabelle | 2012-09-21, 01:44
  4. Joy:6月份看了的作品!第一次进入你的个人网页,感动,兴奋,期待,希望可以跟你建立起沟通的桥梁,我是否可以咨询下有关职业的事情吗?目前工作上遇到了极大的困扰

    Posted by amyshao | 2012-09-26, 21:43
  5. Dear Joy,

    Happy belated birthday. I love your book so much because it was so inspiring and giving me courage to follow what I really want. The most important thing is that I am not afraid or worry about my career. Thank you for taking the time and effort to make such a great impact on Asian woman. May the lord blessed you and your family.

    Please continue your good work!and thank you again for your great work to share your valuable advice to all ladies. =)

    Posted by Yvonne | 2012-10-03, 15:15
  6. 感觉很不一般,我四十岁的时候能有这样的自信与成就,可能吗?自问一下.

    Posted by tongkatali | 2012-10-08, 02:03
  7. Hi Joy,刚刚通过你的微博认识了你和你的书,买来读一读,写得太棒了!说出了我的心声,我非常喜欢!不过,,我想,我应该错过了你在中国的读者见面会:( 你已经来过上海了吧?真心希望今后有机会见到你:)祝你生活愉快,一切顺利^_^

    Posted by Michelle_Shanghai | 2012-10-12, 02:08
  8. Exciting book. I was really impressed by your life and your sincere sharing. I am also a headhunter(just at the entrance level), hoping oneday I could also pick up (just like you)in my life.

    Posted by Tiffany Y. XU | 2012-11-11, 19:47
  9. Great book.

    Posted by Tiffany Y. XU | 2012-11-11, 19:47
  10. 无意间在自己所呆的书店发现了这本《30岁前别结婚》。我被书名所吸引,更让我好奇想知道的是你会关于这个书名写些什么内容。而结果是我被深深吸引,并全身心专注书里将其读完,然后,我认识了你Joy Chen。你真是一个充满魅力的女人啊!希望有一天我也能像你一样。

    Posted by Vivian | 2012-12-16, 03:57

Post a Comment