Finding yourself

My summer vacation

Dave and I just returned from Europe and my head is still in the clouds, so this week, I hope you don’t mind that I’ll just share with you some thoughts from our trip.

The Jewish cemetary in Budapest

Our vacation was prompted by a reunion of Dave’s father’s family, a Hungarian Jewish family whose lives were torn apart by the Holocaust. The reunion was held in their native Budapest, a place of great majesty and one of Europe’s most beautiful cities.

About 70 people traveled in from around the world. As this was the first time the family had been together since World War II, it was a very special opportunity to meet the elderly survivors and hear their stories. Given the circumstances, we left our baby girls at home.

No matter how much one has read about the atrocities of wartime, it’s still heart-wrenching to hear the stories as experienced by one’s own family. The Hungarian Holocaust was especially brutal, resulting in the killing of even more Jews than were killed in Germany. Members of Dave’s family who survived were seared forever with memories that no human being should have.

One of the highlights of our week in Budapest was a visit to the turn-of-the-century gravesite where Dave’s great-grandfather rests. As Jews were not allowed to be buried in the main cemetery, their area is set off in a corner. After driving past the manicured expanse of the main cemetery, it was shocking to see the cramped Jewish area, wildly overgrown for lack of care since most of the descendants of those buried there had been exterminated by the Nazis.

This trip made me think a lot about family. Dave and I had never spent more than two days away from our babies, so we missed them a lot, but their absence allowed us more time with the upper generations. I was struck by how we who grew up in times of peace (I was born in 1969) will never truly be able to comprehend the turbulence that our parents have endured. The horrors of World War II across Europe and Asia. Famine. The Cultural Revolution. We are each a product of our times, and we can get so used to complaining about how our parents will never understand us that it’s easy to forget how we may never truly understand them either. We have limited opportunities to understand our parents’ experiences, so it’s important to grab hold of those opportunities while we can.

Our time in Budapest also featured many light-hearted moments. One night we danced until morning at a beautiful disco with the family’s younger generations. Dave’s 20-something nieces danced on the stage and called out for me to join them until finally I did. Afterward, they gushed to everyone about how cool I am for keeping up with them. People who witnessed me up there probably thought me more “fool” than “cool,” wondering who is this crazy 42-year-old lady dancing her tail off in front of everyone at 2:00am!

More than any U.S. city, Budapest is an urban planner’s dream. Planners love pedestrians and bicyclists and hate cars, so I was delighted by the city’s wide sidewalks, plentiful public transit, and abundant bicycle paths set apart from the streets. The landscaping is sensational, with gardens and flower patches exploding in color on even the busiest of street corners. The city also is dotted with surprising bursts of high-design street furniture, avant-garde architecture and daring public art. One balmy night we stood with hundreds in a public square, watching as the façade of one of Budapest’s great historic buildings was brought to life by the light shows of Hungary’s wildly imaginative young digital artists. Click on this video to see an example.

After Budapest, we lingered another few days in Istanbul, another fantastic city and the world’s only city straddling two continents. Linking Europe and Asia, Istanbul pulses with a heady swirl of Muslim and western, old and new.

Dave and I returned home having brimming with stories, old and new, and having met and communed with family members from throughout the world. If you’d like to see some more photos from our trip, click here.

I hope that you are enjoying a memorable summer as well. Stay cool, everyone!

I welcome your comments, in Chinese or English, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

寻找真我

我的暑假

Dave和我刚刚从欧洲回来。我还有点云里雾里呢,所以这周,我想就和你们分享一些旅行感悟,希望你们不要介意。

我们的旅行是由Dave父亲家族的重聚促成的。Dave 的父亲一家是一个匈牙利-犹太大家庭,但二战大屠杀将他们的生活冲击得支离破碎。这次大团圆是在他们的祖籍地布达佩斯举行的。布达佩斯是一个十分庄严的地方,也是欧洲最美丽的城市之一。

布达佩斯的犹太人墓区

大约有七十个人从世界各地赶来。由于这是二战以来家人们第一次见面,这次重聚其实是一个非常特殊的、拜访年迈的生还者和聆听他们的故事的机会。鉴于实际情况,我们把年幼的女儿们留在家里。

无论一个人阅读过多少战时的暴行,听到自己家人讲述亲身经历的故事依然会感到揪心。匈牙利大屠杀尤为残酷,在匈牙利遇害的犹太人比在德国遇害的犹太人还多。这些没有人应当拥有的记忆永远都会煎熬着Dave家中的大屠杀幸存者。

我们布达佩斯七日游的亮点之一是凭吊Dave先祖父长眠百年的墓地。由于犹太人被禁止安葬在公墓中,他们的坟墓都被挤到了角落。驱车经过被整修过的宽阔公墓后,忽然看见狭窄难辨的犹太人墓地区,令人感到很震惊。由于大部分的墓主后代都被纳粹杀害,这些古墓缺乏维护,野草丛生。

这次旅行激发了不少我对家庭的思考。Dave和我从没离开我们的小宝贝们超过两天时间,所以我们非常想念她们,但也恰恰由于她们不在,我们得以和长辈多一些相处的时间。我为我们这一代是如何在和平年代长大(我是1969年出生的)因而永远不能真正理解我们的父母经历过的动荡而深受触动:二战时遍布欧洲和亚洲的恐怖局面。饥荒。文化大革命。我们每个人都是时代的产物,而且会很习惯于抱怨父母是如何永远无法理解我们,以致忘记我们其实也是如何永远无法真正理解他们的。我们没有太多机会了解父母的经历,因此抓住那些可以抓住的机会很重要。

我们在布达佩斯的日子中还经历了很多轻松愉快的时刻。一天晚上,我们在一家美丽的迪厅和家族中的年轻一辈跳舞到第二天凌晨。Dave那些20多岁的侄女们在台上跳着跳着,就喊我加入,直到我终于登台。事后,她们逢人就夸我能和她们“与时俱进”酷毙了(cool)。但估计当时在舞厅看见我的人都觉得我那更多的是傻毙了(fool),而不是酷毙了(cool),可能还琢磨着这个在众人面前舞得疯疯癫癫、辫子冲天、直到凌晨两点的42岁女士是谁!

相对于任何一个美国城市而言,布达佩斯就是城市规划者的梦想。城市规划者热爱行人和自行车驾驶者,痛恨汽车,所以这个城市里宽阔的人行道、充沛的公交设施和马路旁大量的自行车道让我雀跃不已。这里的风景令人感动,即使是最繁忙的街角也有花园和花团锦簇,五彩斑斓。这个城市还有极富设计感的街道设施、先锋前卫的建筑和大胆的公共艺术横空出世。一个温润的夜晚我们和几百人站在一个公共广场上观看匈牙利那些想象狂野、风华正茂的数字化艺术家在布达佩斯一座壮丽的历史建筑表面上演灯光秀,整个大楼都因此焕发出了勃勃生机。要想看其中的一例,就点击这个视频吧。

布达佩斯之后,我们在伊斯坦布尔逗留了几天,又一个美不胜收的城市,而且横跨两大洲,举世无双。联接着欧洲和亚洲,伊斯坦布尔在穆斯林与西方、古老与崭新之间兴奋游走,生生不息。

Dave和我满载着老故事和新故事回家了,还和世界各地的家人见了面,谈了心。如果你想多看一些照片,点击这里

我希望你们也正在欢度一个难忘的夏天。Stay cool, everyone!

 此博客的英文版请点击如下链接

Discussion

No comments yet.

Post a Comment