Modern life Q&A

Spying parents / Annoying people / Dating around

Modern Life Q&A is a weekly advice column on the Global Rencai blog where Joy Chen answers readers’ questions about life, work and love.

Spying parents

Q:  Chinese parents always say, lovingly, “No matter how old you are, you are still a little baby to us!” I am 25 and I am sick of this. My parents recently drove me nuts trying to add me on Kaixin (a social network site). They are already on my QQ, SINA, Renren (I guess I am the only kid in China who befriended parents on Renren)… Why do they always have to know everything about me?!

A:  Becoming an adult is all about learning to be independent. That calls for big changes in your relationship with your parents, because they’re the “from whom” you’re becoming independent. They have to learn to see you as a friend and not just as their baby, and you need to learn to see them as friends and not just as your parents. Don’t join the Douban group “All Parents are Devils.” Instead, establish boundaries in a clear, consistent and mature way.

Try this: “I’m an adult now, and when you spy on me online, I feel disrespected and belittled. You’ve given me everything. Now the best thing you can give me is to the room to take flight. I promise to come to you any time I need your help and counsel. But in the meantime, can we agree on certain boundaries?” Now if you approach this conversation in a way that disrespects and belittles them, then you undercut your own argument.  Rather, speak sincerely and with empathy, recognizing that being your parent means living in a state of constant worry for you, and that as their new friend, you can help them through this transition.

Annoying people

Q:  I am great at communicating with clients and friends, but I have a hard time talking with several high school and college classmates. We can talk in person, but I never get interested in them. Maybe it’s because I dislike some of their behaviors. It seems that there is an invisible wall between us at class reunion parties. Why is that so? How can I break the wall and further our friendships?

A:  Sounds like you don’t respect these people and don’t share their values, so first, honestly ask yourself whether you really want to talk with them. Your time is precious, and there is no rule requiring you to spend time with people you openly dislike. If you decide you do want to develop relationships with them, then put aside your feelings of disapproval. It’s easy to understand people who are similar to us but harder to relate to people who are different. The fact is, from every single person who crosses your path, you can learn something new and you can find some area of commonality. To start with, you attended the same school, so you already have some shared experiences. When you reach out to them, identify and acknowledge the things you have in common with them, and then make a sincere effort to understand them and their perspectives.

Dating around


Q:  I am a pretty traditional Chinese girl. I want to ask a question about love. One or two years ago, I thought that there was a guy who liked me. For example, he really cared about my opinions of him; he asked about my family background and my hobbies; he even said things like “You are so considerate. A guy who married you must be lucky,” “What a nice thing it would be to have you manage a home,” “You are a (breathtaking) scene,” etc.

Many of his behaviors and words made me feel that he liked me a lot. Later, I found that he said “I love you” to another girl. This guy is quite moral and remained single until 26. He is not a playboy, so I feel very confused why that happened: Why did he make me misunderstand him if he had fallen in love with somebody else?

Now there is another guy who is very nice to me (he behaves in a way only a person in love will do). I am worried if it will end up like the last time-I once again imagined that I am a guy’s favorite girl while I’m not. I really don’t know why a very moral guy will send the messages of love to another person while eventually he is not that into her.

A:  I think the problem you’re having is that your stance toward man-selection is an entirely passive one. This “pick me, please!” attitude comes across to men as desperate, and desperation is a turnoff.  To want to marry you, a man also needs to feel that YOU chose HIM, and that you did so because of his special qualities. A man wants to chase you, and to earn your love.

And the right guy will be lucky to be with you! Obviously you have many wonderful qualities, or you would not have attracted these two guys. Learn to truly accept and love yourself. Nothing is sexier to men than a truly dignified woman. Then when Mr. Right does come along, he will cherish you the way you deserve to be cherished, and he will never look at another woman again.

I welcome your comments, in Chinese or English, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

Related Blog Posts

“现代生活”专栏

间谍父母/讨厌的人/四处约会

现代生活Q&A是“Global 人才”博客上的一个每周性的建议性专栏,在这里Joy会回答读者们提出的关于现代生活的问题。

间谍父母

Q:中国父母总是怜爱地说:“无论你长得多大,对我们来说你依然是个小宝宝!”我25岁了,对这个说法很反感。最近我的父母想在开心网上加我,我都快疯了。他们已经在我的QQ、新浪微博和人人网上(估计我是全中国唯一一个在人人上加父母为好友的小孩)……为什么他们老想知道我的一举一动呢?

A: 长大成人就意味着学会独立。这需要你与父母的关系发生一些大变化,因为他们是你实现独立时要脱离的对象。 他们得学会把你当成一个朋友一样看待,而不再仅仅当你是他们的小宝宝,而你需要学会把他们当成朋友,而不仅仅是你的父母。不要加入豆瓣上那个“父母皆祸害 ”的小组,但要学会用清晰、连贯、成熟的方式和他们设定界限。

试试这种说法:“我现在是一个成人了,当你们在网上监视我时,我觉得不被尊重,觉得被轻视。你们已经给了我所有东西。现在你们能给我最好的东西就是让我展翅飞翔的空间。我保证当我需要你们的帮助和辅导时,我一定会去找你们。但是与此同时,我们能不能达成一些分界协议?”不过,如果你现在以一种不尊重他们、鄙视他们的方式开始这个对话,你的言论力量就会被削弱。相反地,说的时候要真诚,要善解人意,要了解到做你的父母意味着永远处于担心你的状态;而你作为他们的新朋友,可以帮助他们实现这个过渡。

讨厌的人

Q: 我很善于与客户和朋友交流,但是和几个高中和大学同学聊天时,觉得很困难。我们可以单独聊天,但是我总是没法对他们产生兴趣。也许是因为我不太喜欢他们的一些行为吧。我要如何才能打破聚会时有的那种隔膜,发展我们之间的友谊呢?

A: 听起来好像你不大尊重这些人,也不赞成他们的价值观。所以第一,认真问自己到底能不能和他们聊天。你的时间是宝贵的,没有什么规则要求你和明摆着不喜欢的人呆在一起。如果你决定自己想要和他们发展关系,那就放下你那种不认同的态度。理解那些与自己相似的人很简单,但是和那些与自己不同的人建立关系就有点难。但其实,你能从路过的每个人身上学到一些新东西,找到某种共同点。比如第一,你们上过同一间学校,你们已经有了一些共享的经历。当你和他们打交道时,可以先界定那些你们共同拥有的经历。值得学习的新东西,然后真诚地努力去理解他们以及他们的观点。

四处约会

Q:  我是一个比较传统的中国女孩,想问一个关于感情的问题。一两年前,我自认为有个男孩很喜欢我,比如他非常在意我对他的看法,打听我的家庭环境和喜好,还说诸如“你真贴心,谁娶你可有福了”、 “有个家让你去经营多好啊”、 “你是一道风景”等等。他的很多举动和话语给我的感觉就是他很喜欢我的。后来发现他向另外一个女孩表白了。这个男孩的道德品质是很不错的,而且都26岁了还没恋爱过。他并不是一个滥用情的人,所以我很奇怪这是为什么,既然喜欢别人干嘛让我误解?

现在又有另外一个男孩对我很好(他的举动真的是只有当喜欢一个人时才会那样),我担心会不会再像上次那样,又是我自作多情。我真的不明白一个很正直的人为什么也要向别人发出了喜欢的信息,最后却不是喜好。

A: 我觉得你的问题在于你在选择男人方面采取了一个完全被动的立场。这种“求求你,选我吧!”的态度在男人看来显得很饥渴,而这种饥渴会令男人掉头就跑。一个男人必须要感觉到是你选择了他,而且是由于他的特殊品质而选择了他。男人希望追求你,然后赢得你的爱。

一个适合你的男人会觉得与你共处是他的幸运!很显然你有很多美好的品质,要不然你不会先后吸引两个男人。学会真正地接受自己,爱自己!对于男人来说,没有什么会比一个真正有尊严的女人更性感了。然后当白马王子真的出现时,他会用你应得的方式去珍惜你,他也不会再看别的女人一眼。

此博客的英文版请点击如下链接

相关博文

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Post a Comment