Of men and women

Memo to Chinese women: Learn to be true to yourself

Chinese women today are more educated and have more career opportunities than at any time in history. And yet, many of us are experiencing a sort of life malaise. This is what I’m hearing:

“I feel trapped. I’m in a PhD program that I hate, and I can’t see myself as an academic for life.”

“My parents are terrified I’ll end up a “leftover woman” and want me to get married. But I have dreams! Right now, I just want to focus on my career.”

“For years I’ve been trying to keep my husband happy but I think he might be getting some action on the side. I feel my life is sliding away from me.”

“I feel lost. I work around the clock for my boss, my husband, my children. I’m losing touch with who I am.”

Modern life is really stressful for Chinese women

Being pulled in many different directions is a fact of life for women all over the world, but the problem is more acute for Chinese women. The cheeky blog StuffWhitePeopleLike.com includes “Asian girls” because “Asian women avoid key white women characteristics, such as having a midlife crisis, divorce, and hobbies that don’t involve taking care of the children.”

After thousands of years, Chinese women are so accustomed to devotion to the people around us that it’s not easy to square tradition with our new yearning for good careers.

When I saw this, I didn’t know whether to laugh or to cry. Mid-life crisis and divorce are not events to aspire to, and yet there is some truth here. After thousands of years, Chinese women are so accustomed to devotion to the people around us that it’s not easy to square tradition with our new yearning for good careers.

And that, I think, is a lot of what’s wrong in the lives of many Chinese women today.

Society mostly judges the success of a man through a single lens: his career, and having a successful enough career to buy a home and support a family. I do not underestimate the magnitude of this challenge; as a city official, I once spent years working on affordable-housing, and I wish that an affordable apartment was within the reach of everyone.

But the fact remains that society expects men to do one thing well.  If men additionally are good husbands or fathers, they receive hearty congratulations. On the weekends, I always laugh when my male friends write online status updates like: “Wife at the hair salon. I’m baby-sitting two children on my own!” I always feel tempted to write back, “Hey buddy, that’s wonderful, but when they’re your own kids, it’s not called baby-sitting. It’s called parenting!”

A woman, on the other hand, is expected by society to be perfect in many roles:  Gorgeous woman, dutiful daughter, outstanding career woman, adoring wife, angelic mother. It’s no wonder that many women lose themselves in the rush to meet all these expectations.

Successful women are joyful, strong and self-assured

But some women do manage to be successful, and I’m blessed to count several as friends. Here’s what they have in common:

•  They’re joyful, strong and self-assured.

•  No matter the number of roles they play (career woman, mother, etc.), they seem to gracefully excel at all, and still make time for their friends.

•  They’re at peace with the choices they’ve made, they feel their lives are on track now, and they’re excited about their future.

•   They’re growing and learning every day. They’re constantly reinventing themselves.

•   They exert a centrifugal pull in the universe, attracting people from all directions. They’re popular and influential. This leads to good things and even more opportunities in their lives.

These successful women don’t have much in common with one another. They are not much more talented, more beautiful or smarter than everyone else. They work in diverse fields, they’ve made different life choices. What they share is not one quality. It’s a practice. Each has approached her life from the standpoint of what is true to her.

Successful women are first true to themselves

Be true to yourself. This is simple to say but difficult for many women to put into practice. After all, the last thing you would want is to be called is selfish!  But the fact is that when we’re constantly overworked and overstressed from the strain of trying to be all things to all people, we serve no one well.

Faced with a world that expects so much of you, but that is blind to who you are and what you need, how can you learn to be true to yourself?

How to be true to yourself

Quiet down all that noise, and tune in to your inner voice.

1.    Identify those moments in your life when your heart sings. Recall a moment in the past year when your heart sang. When you felt strong, in charge, happy, and you were so involved in what you were doing that time just flew by. Experts call this state “achieving flow.” What were you doing? Where were you? Who were you with? Picture yourself again in this moment, in as much vivid detail as you can. As you think about it, you’ll feel yourself change. You’ll relax. Your breathing will slow down. You might even smile to yourself.

This is, in fact, an exercise to help you identify your A+ strengths, an important concept which I’ve blogged about here.

2.    Commit to making more of those moments in your life. Start to create more of these moments in your life. What are the elements of your role as a daughter, a girlfriend, a career woman, a wife, a mother, that bring you joy? Start to reorganize your life to focus on doing those things. As you prioritize those things, move other activities off your to-do list and find other people and solutions to get those done.

Act boldly. It’s one thing to know what you need to do, and another to act upon it. Learn to trust your heart, and you’ll be compelled to make large and small changes in your life. Perhaps you need to negotiate with your boss to shift your responsibilities. Perhaps you need to let go of a boyfriend who doesn’t cherish you for who you really are.

3.     Learn to say no. Stop living your life by simply responding to the demands of others. Practice saying no, and celebrate a little victory for yourself each time you do.

I believe that, for Chinese women today, being true to yourself is life’s most important lesson, and also life’s hardest. As I look back on my life, every time I felt I’ve felt lost or stuck is when I’ve momentarily set myself aside in service to someone else –my parents, a boyfriend, a company I worked for.

So be very careful every time you think you’re being noble and magnanimous by giving away something that makes your heart sing.

It’s a part of daily life to put others’ needs before yours at times. Many nights, I’ve dearly wanted to collapse in bed and instead stayed awake to read another book to my daughter. But when you give up something big, something that makes your heart sing, you’ll be cutting yourself off from the inspiration and joy which you need to live a good life.

Make no excuses for who you are and what you want

It would be nice to realign society to be a more hospitable environment, but meanwhile, you can start today to claim your autonomy. You have every right to your follow your heart regardless of what anyone thinks about that. You don’t have to advertise this fact on a billboard, but you can simply start disallowing other people’s opinions to govern your choices.

Do not ask for permission or for approval for who you are. Your choices, made with integrity, never have to be justified to anyone else. Never allow anyone to say you should be someone you are not.

When you’re true to yourself, success will follow

Successful women are so used to being true to themselves that it’s become a habit. If you incorporate this practice into your own life, the following things will happen:

•  You’ll have more time in your life because you’re focused on doing fewer things and doing those well.

•  You’ll have more purpose in your life because you’re more focused in certain things rather than trying to please everyone.

•  Your life will feel more balanced because each area of your life will give you strength rather than sap your strength.

•  You’ll be able to do more for others, because you’re focusing on what you need, and you’ll get the strength to help everyone else in your life.

When you’re true to yourself, others will love you more

The paradoxical thing about becoming a more self-centered women is that people will love them more! Actually, an independent woman is a very sexy thing indeed. When you remain true to yourself, you’ll attract people, women and men, who want to be near you for who you really are. When Dave and I met, he had been dating a rotation of pretty younger women, but he quickly “cleared out the stable,” as he puts it, and then it was just this amazing man and me.

The way forward is within yourself

Amidst the myriad pressures facing the Chinese woman today, you can design for yourself a life that is successful and joyful. The concept of a woman being true to herself may seem to be a very modern one, but actually it is based on ancient wisdom. The Tao Te Ching offers deep insight for men and women equally:

不出户,知天下,
不窥牖,见天道.
— 老子《道德经》

At the center of your being
You have the answer
You know who you are
You know what you want.
— Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching

 

I welcome your comments, in Chinese or English, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

如何成为一名领导者

致中国女人们的“内部通告”:直面真我

今天的中国女人比历史上的任何时候都拥有更高的受教育程度和更广阔的就业机会。不过,她们中许多人还是在经历一类生活困境。我正听到这样的抱怨:

“我觉得被困住了。我在读博但是我恨死这个过程了,而且我并不愿意以治学为生。”

“我的父母很怕我会变成剩女,所以总是催我结婚。但是我还有自己的梦想!现在,其实我只想专注于事业。”

“多年来我都在努力使我的丈夫过得开心,但我觉得他可能趁我不注意在搞一些‘小动作’。我觉得我的生活正在慢慢远离我。”

“我感到迷茫。我为老板、丈夫和小孩拼死拼活,却渐渐忘却了我是谁。”

现代生活的确是中国女人的“高压锅”

数千年来,中国女人早已习惯了为身边的人奉献自我。现在,要使我们对理想事业的新呼唤与传统的要求相协调并不容易。

全世界的女人都在面临的一个事实是:生活令她们分身乏术。但是我认为这个问题对于中国女人来说显得更为严峻。StuffWhitePeopleLike.com (“白人喜欢的东西”)这个诙谐搞怪的博客曾将“亚洲女性”囊括在内,因为“亚洲女性避免了典型的白人女性特点,比如拥有一场中年危机,离婚,以及将照顾孩子排除在爱好之外。”

当我看到这个理由时,我感到哭笑不得。白人的中年危机和离婚当然是不值得推崇的,但这些现象的发生也不是没有道理的。数千年来,中国女人早已习惯了为身边的人奉献自我。现在,要使我们对理想事业的新呼唤与传统的要求相协调并不容易。

这一点,在我看来,正是当今困扰中国女人们生活的最大问题。

在大多数情况下,社会以单一的标准衡量男人的成功:他的事业,而且要成功到足以买房养家。我并不低估这个挑战的难度;作为一个城市官员,我曾经多年致力于为人们提供相对廉价的住房——我希望每个人都能拥有一间买得起的房子。

但不可否认的是,社会普遍觉得男人只要能把事业干好就算无可指摘了。如果他们外加还是好丈夫或者好父亲,那么必然会赢得诚挚的喝彩。每当我看见我的男性朋友们在周末留下这样的网上状态更新时,总是忍俊不禁:“老婆在发廊。我一个人正在给两个小孩当保姆!”我总想回复道:“嗨老兄,那多美好啊,不过当那些小孩是自己生的时候,不能叫当保姆,要叫亲子!”

而另一方面,女人却总被社会期望着做“全能冠军”: 美丽俏佳人、孝顺乖乖女、职场女英豪、甜美小娇妻,天使级妈妈。难怪这么多女人会为了迎合各种期望横冲直撞,以致到了迷失自我的地步。

成功的女人愉快,坚强,自信

但是有一些女人的确做到了八面玲珑,而我有幸可以将其中的几位引为知己。以下是她们的共同点:

•  她们愉快,坚强,自信。

•  无论她们扮演着多少种角色(职业女性、母亲等),她们似乎总能优雅地胜任,而且还能为朋友们腾出时间。

•  她们能够从容面对自己作出的人生抉择;她们觉得自己的生活有条不紊,稳步前进;她们对未来充满期待。

•  她们每天都在成长和学习。她们一直在塑造更好的自己。

•  她们在生活的宇宙中拥有强大的磁场,吸引着来自四面八方的人。人们喜欢和她们在一起。她们广受欢迎,富有影响力,而这种品质促成的都是好事,甚至还能为她们的生活带来更多的机会。

这些成功的女人各有所长,各具特色。她们的禀赋,容貌,或者智商并不比其他人超出很多。她们耕耘于广泛的领域,并且作出各异的人生选择。她们共享的并不是某一种特质,而是一种实践——她们中的每个人都从直面真我的角度出发,掌控人生。

成功的女人首先直面真我

直面你自己——这一点对我们女人来说实在是知易行难。因为无论如何,我们最不想做的事就是变得自私!但事实是:当我们超负荷工作、过度紧张、为了面面俱到而忧心失眠时,我们并不能很好地服务他人。

面对一个对你所求甚多、却对你究竟是谁和需要什么视而不见的世界,你要怎样才能学会直面真正的自我呢?

如何直面真我

撇开所有杂音,收听你心底的声音吧。

1.    识别生命中那些让你的心灵歌唱的时刻。回忆去年中一个你能听到内心在欢歌的时刻。那个时刻让你感到强大、运筹帷幄、喜不自胜、忘情地投入于所做之事以至于忘记了时间的飞逝。专家们将这种状态称为“获得心流”。你当时在做什么?在哪里?和什么人在一起?再次想象你在那个时刻中的状态,越具体生动越好。当你作这样的思考的时候,你会感觉自己在改变。你放松了,呼吸舒平缓了。你甚至会对着自己微笑。

这实际上是一个帮助你识别自己的A+技能的练习。关于这个重要的概念,我曾在这篇博文中讨论过。

2.    在你的生活中创造更多这样的时刻。在你扮演的每个生活角色中,认真审视那些曾让你的心灵歌唱的时刻。在你扮演女儿、女友、职业女性、妻子、母亲的这些角色中,哪些因素能给你带来欢乐?让你的生命开始专注于这些让你快乐的事情吧!随着你优先考虑这些事项,你可把其他的事项从计划表中移除并且通过别人或者别的方式完成。

大胆地行动吧。知道要做什么是一回事,开始据此行动则是另外一回事。学会信赖你的内心,你就会被引领着在生活中作出大大小小的改变。也许你需要和老板沟通,调整你的工作职责。也许你需要甩掉一个男友,如果他并不珍惜那个真正的你。

3.    学会说“不”。停止过那种只是简单地回应别人的要求的生活。练习说“不”,每次做到时候就当成小小的胜利,为自己庆祝一番。

我相信对于今天的中国女人来说,直面真我是人生最重要的课程,也是最难的课程。回顾我自己的生活,每次感到失落或者受挫的时候都是当我为了服务他人而忽视真我的时候——我的父母,男友,或者公司。所以,每次当你觉得放弃让你的心灵歌唱的东西会使你觉得自己高尚慷慨的时候,都要三思。

有时候,将别人的需求放在自己的需求之前是日常生活的一部分。很多夜晚,我都恨不得瘫在床上,最终却是打起精神为女儿再读一本故事书。不过,当你放弃的是那些很重要的东西,那些能让你的内心欢歌的东西,你也许看上去依然保持原样,照常走路说话呼吸,但是实际上你将把动力和快乐——这些会让你过上幸福生活的必备元素——渐渐排出体外。

别回避“你是谁”与“你要什么”

重构一个更加友好的社会是件很美好的事情,但是与此同时,你可以从今天开始宣告“自治”。 你有权追寻内心的指引,而无需理会任何人的点评。你没必要把这个事实张贴在公告栏上,但是你可以轻松屏蔽别人那些试图主导你的选择的观点。

你没必要为你是谁而感到抱歉,也不要去追求许可或者认同。只要你的选择是以正直为底色,便无需任何人为你正名。再也不要允许别人告诉你:你要做那个不是你的你。

当你直面真我,成功将由你掌握

成功的女人们遵循内心的指引,并且因为经常这样做而习惯成自然。我觉得如果你也将这种实践融入你的生活,那么以下的事情将会发生:

•  你在生活中会拥有更多的时间,因为你可以致力于更少的事情并且把它们做好。

•  你在生活中会更有目的性,因为你更专注于某些事情,而不是努力取悦每一个人。

•  你的生活会更有平衡感,因为你的生活的每个方面都在给力,而非吃力。

•  你将有能力为他人做更多的事情,因为你专注的是你需要的东西,你能获取力量帮助生命中的其他每一个人。

当你直面真我,别人也将爱你更多

一个看似悖论的情况是:一个更加关注自我的女人会得到人们更多的爱。事实上,一个独立自主的女人是真正的性感尤物。当你保持真我,无论男人还是女人都会被你吸引,因为他们想要靠近那个真实的你。当我和Dave见面时,他已经约会了一圈比我年轻的漂亮女人,但他很快就——按他的话说——“把其它的马子清除出局”,然后就剩下这个精品男人和我了。

路由心生,通向前方

纵使现代生活令中国女人承受巨大的压力,你依然可以为自己设计成功快乐的生活。要一个女人直面真我也许是一个非常现代的概念,但它其实植根于古代智慧。《道德经》便为男人和女人提供过深刻的智慧:

不出户,知天下,
不窥牖,见天道。
—— 老子《道德经》

At the center of your being
You have the answer
You know who you are
You know what you want.
— Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching

 

此博客的英文版请点击如下链接.

Discussion

12 Responses to “致中国女人们的“内部通告”:直面真我”

  1. Every time I read your article, I feel like I really learn something. Thanks

    Posted by CuteFatBear | 2011-04-10, 09:12
  2. Hi Joy,
    I am touched by this article.
    Sometimes, it is unavoidable to be in a situation when feel like “stuck” or “lost”. At this time, listen to your own heart; think of what you really want and makes you happy, in another word, “Be true to yourself” is very important. I used to have so many concerns. However, when I decided to be bold and listen to myself, I found it was not that hard at all. I became happier when following my own heart.

    Posted by Jun Deng | 2011-04-10, 11:33
    • Dear Cute and Fat: I’m so glad to know this blog is helpful to you. Stay cute and fat. Dear Jun: Yes, being stuck and lost happens to the best of us. I like this quote from Sophia Loren: “Mistakes are part of the dues one pays for a full life.”

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2011-04-10, 11:48
  3. Hi Joy,

    I read this tread from “RenRen” and tracked the link to here. Thanks you for posting on Renren, where you can inspire and motivate a number of students both in China and overseas. I am currently a graduate student at Upenn and have always focused an eye on the issues of women. Recently there is also a trend to give women more voice. Nowadays China society is really undergoing a drastic change and Chinese women are also experiencing some changes they would never think about before. I have many women friends who are confused and worried about their life, while I just want to tell them, as you said in the article, to be a independent thinker, to be true to be themselves and others. Yesterday I also read a good post about women. Share it with you : )
    http://www.drunkpiano-liuyu.net/?p=740

    Posted by yunqian | 2011-04-10, 13:25
    • Yunqian: I’m looking forward to women leaders like you reshaping the China of the future! I loved this link. I laughed and nodded all the way through it. Such an intelligent and lively conversation – I feel lucky to have been able to eavesdrop on it thanks to you!

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2011-04-10, 14:30
  4. Hey Joy,

    I cannot agree with you anymore with the idea that “Successful women are first true to themselves”. I also feel that this blog not only convinces me that being true to oneself is important, but also provides enough details on how to be true to oneself.

    After reading this post, however, as a man coming from China to pursue PhD in America, I had a strong feeling that this idea also holds for men. In this rapidly developing world, most people are kind of lost because they (including me, I think) are busy with all these things that are from outside, not inside of their hearts. People are too busy to calm down and think about themselves. My way of listening to my heart is to put it as a task in my schedule, to force me escaping from busy work and think about what I really want.

    One point, perhaps already been in your posts but I missed it, is that maybe we should think about something in a different way. By saying this I mean most of the time we think in a conventional way that is believed to be true for most people. I don’t think this is correct because each person is unique. Just like every person has his/her own trouble, s/he can have, and should have their own solution.

    Posted by Haodong Chen | 2011-04-11, 09:38
  5. I love the idea that a successful woman is not necessarily a CEO. She may be currently a student or an employer in progress. Her success lies in the peace she makes with all her choices and the passion about lifelong learning. Yet, won’t such a women have a bright future?

    Posted by Rexy | 2011-04-11, 16:11
  6. 我有很多不擅长的事情,若总做擅长的事情,因为不擅长而导致的困难一直存在着,一直另我痛苦。我会去选择做那些不擅长并且让我痛苦的事情,目标是为了将来的减少痛苦。你的论点只适用于本身就很有能力的女性,不适合我。

    Posted by yingjie | 2011-05-17, 14:14
  7. Joy,
    真是跟你和你的文字相见恨晚。
    喜欢你一针见血的简洁笔锋,有个人经历也给出建议。
    打算系统地读你的博客。

    Cissy

    Posted by Cissy | 2011-05-22, 11:46
  8. 简洁的语音,清晰的条理,这是深沉的探索的结晶,可贵!
    有缘分接触并领悟你文章的人,都是有福气的人。感恩!

    Posted by 格兰 | 2012-03-03, 00:41

Post a Comment