Finding yourself

How to choose a career which brings happiness and success

When it comes to career choice, our lives differ radically from those of our parents. It was simple for them. They were assigned their 单位(danwei), and that was that.

Now, it’s up to us to figure out our careers, the topic of my remarks last week to the Peking University Alumni Association of Southern California. PKU alumni are blessed with many choices in life; in fact, they tell me, over 50% of PKU graduates go outside of China for work or study. For them, as for many of you highly talented readers of this blog, with the world at your fingertips, the question becomes:  with so many choices, how to ensure that we make the right choices?

The Paradox of Choice

In fact, a superabundance of options can actually lead to anxiety, as psychologist Barry Schwartz argues in his book, The Paradox of Choice: Why More is Less. He cites a Columbia University study where a researcher went to a gourmet food store and invited shoppers to try out six different kinds of jam. Of those who sampled the jams, 30% bought some. The next weekend, she set out 24 different kinds. On that weekend, more people tried the jam, but only 3% of the samplers bought any.

It is true that choice complicates life. But for those of us who are so richly blessed, this kind of hardship is what 21st century life is all about:  learning to make our own way, define our own choices, and make our own goals.

Identify what you CAN do, then what you WANT to do

In an earlier blog post, I noted that to achieve happiness, you need to use your strengths, and you need meaning in your life. Harvard University professor Tal Ben-Shahar tells how, when he graduated from college, his philosophy professor said this: “Life is short. In choosing a path, make sure you first identify those things that you can do. Out of those, select the ones you want to do. Then, reduce your choice further by zooming in on what you really want to do. Finally, select those things that you really, really want to do – and then do them.”

So, in below diagram, the outer circle captures the possibilities available to you. The innermost circle encompasses your deepest wants and desires:


Know your strengths, and leverage them

As human beings, to be happy, we must stretch ourselves, to make full use of our potential. We should feel that we are doing things that challenge us, that use us fully and well. One thing that constantly amazes me as a recruiter is how unique each individual is. Two candidates can have nearly identical resumes, and yet be completely different when I meet them in person. There are one or two things that you do amazingly well – better than anyone else around you. Your challenge is to identify what those strengths are, and make them central to your job.

Seek work that gives you meaning

The French Renaissance philosopher Michel de Montaigne wrote, “The great and glorious masterpiece of man is to live with purpose.”

Your career should be a part of your having a sense of purpose. This purpose should carry personal significance for you. It should not be dictated by society’s expectations, or extrinsic factors such as amassing money or status. Different people find meaning in different ways, for example, by starting a business, or entering public service, or practicing law, or raising children.

You can make your career more fulfilling, today

Your career is part of your lifelong evolution, so make the time to rejuvenate yourself and enjoy the journey. In future posts, I will blog on topics such as how to make a career transition, and what to do if you hate your boss. For now, I’ll just say that career transitions can be radical or they can be incremental.

I’ll leave you with an example that I relayed to the PKU audience:

A salesman is unhappy at work. He loves helping customers solve their problems, and he believes in the products he’s selling. But he absolutely hates making the hundreds of cold phone calls a week needed to identify potential customers. And as a result, he hates his job.

What does he do?

He follows his strengths and his passion, and develops a new way of reaching customers… by creating his company’s first-ever email-marketing campaign. He finds the blogs and online forums where they’re discussing their problems, and through those, he finds new and innovative ways to reach his customers and to solve their needs. Along the way, he achieves greater success and happiness than ever in his own career.

It’s no coincidence that my prescription for happiness at work – to leverage your strengths and to find meaningful work – is also my prescription for maximizing your career success.

What career choices can you make today to maximize your happiness and success?

*
I welcome your comment, in English or Chinese, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

寻找真我

怎样选择一份能为你带来快乐和成功的事业

在职业选择这方面,我们的境遇和父辈们完全不同。找工作对他们来说曾经也许很简单,因为他们有单位分配,工作不用选择,单位都包办了。

但是现在,我们得自己找工作、为前程操心。就这个话题我上周在南加州北大校友会上进行了演讲。北大的毕业生有很多选择的优势。他们告诉我说,超过50%的北大毕业生都会选择出国深造或是工作。对于他们来说——当然还包括这个博客的其他优秀的读者们——世界在手中,这点无需烦恼。然而更迫切的问题是,当手中有很多选择的机会时,怎样确保我们做出正确的选择。

选择的悖论

事实上,就像心理学家 Barry Schwartz在他的书 The Paradox of Choice: Why More is Less 里说的一样,选择太多往往容易引起恐慌。他在书里引用了哥伦比亚大学的一项研究:研究者在一家食品店里邀请顾客试尝六种不同口味的果酱,结果尝了果酱的人中,有30%的都买了。之后一周,研究者在店里放了24种不同口味的果酱,虽然有更多的人去品尝,但是只有3%的人真正购买了。

太多的选择往往让生活更加复杂,这是事实。但是对于幸运的我们来说,这种复杂是生活在21世纪无可避免的。我们得学会走自己的路,自己做出选择并力图达到我们的目标。

搞清楚你能做什么,然后是你想做什么

之前的博客里,我说过要达到幸福快乐,你必须发挥你的特长,并且找到生活的意义。哈佛大学教授 Tal Ben-Shahar告诉我们怎样去做。他大学毕业的时候,他的哲学教授说:“人生短暂。选择人生道路的时候,一定首先要找到自己能做的东西,然后从中挑选出一些你想做的。之后进一步筛选出你真正想做的,最后把那些最最想做的事情挑出来,然后去做它们。”

所以,在下面的图表里,圆圈最外层的,是你可以做的,最里面的那层,则包括了你最最渴望做的。


找到你擅长的,并用在工作中

人要活得开心,就必须尽可能地发挥自己,把所有潜能都发挥出来。我们必须让自己感觉到我们正在做有挑战性的东西,能充分发挥我们的潜力。在招聘人的过程中,有一件事总是让我吃惊,那就是两个在简历上,背景和经历几乎相同的人,见面时却给人完全不同的印象。你一定有一两样强项——比周围其他人都强。你所要做的是找到这些优点长处,然后把它们贯彻到你的工作中。

做能让你生命有意义的事

法国文艺复兴时期的哲学家 Michel de Montaigne曾经写过:“人最可贵之处就是活得有目的。”

你的事业应该是你追寻这种目的的一部分。这种目的必须是对你个人有意义的东西,不是社会或其他人期许的,或是外在的评判标准,例如赚钱或获得社会地位。不同的人通过不同的方式找寻这个意义,例如,创业,进入公共服务领域,学习法律或抚养孩子。

今天你能让你的事业更有意义

你的事业是你一生不断提高的舞台,所以尽情地让自己充电并享受这段旅程吧。在以后的博客里,我还会谈到这方面的话题,例如怎样转变职业,怎样对付招人厌的老板等等。不过现在我只是想说职业转换可以是跨越式的,也可以是渐进式的。

这里有一个例子,是我在讲座里给一个北大毕业生的回答:

一个做销售的人对他的工作感到不满。他喜欢帮客户解决问题,而且他对自己的产品也有信心。但是他非常痛恨每个星期要打数百个电话去寻找潜在客户。所以,最终他开始讨厌自己的工作。

但是他最后却成功地进行了转型,他怎么做到的呢?

他按照他擅长和喜欢的方式,找到了一个新的和客户沟通的方法。。。他发明了一种通过电邮来做营销的方法。他找到客户们经常讨论问题的博客和论坛,在那里,找到了全新的方法去和客户接触并帮他们解决问题。这样一来,他在工作的过程中品尝到了成功的滋味而且也变得十分愉快。

如果要开心的工作,并在工作中获得最大的成功,我的建议都是:把自己的长处好好地用到工作中去,并找到工作的意义。

呢?现在能做出怎样的选择,在工作中尽可能地获得快乐和成功呢?

Discussion

7 Responses to “怎样选择一份能为你带来快乐和成功的事业”

  1. 如果不知道自己最擅长什么,但是确有自己想做的工作该怎么办,怎么知道自己最最适合的职业

    Posted by 贾永辉 | 2010-08-21, 17:57
    • Determining what it is you do best is a lifelong journey and can change over time as you grow as a professional. I will blog on this in the future, but for now, one exercise is to think about the 1 or 2 accomplishments that you are proudest of over the past 5 years, and then figure out what skills were needed to achieve those. Also, you can ask your closest friends and family what they consider your greatest assets. Meanwhile, whatever your job or studies is now, be sure to take advantage of every opportunity to learn from it. Best wishes! Joy

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2010-08-22, 00:03
  2. Great, I learn a lot from it, thank you!

    Posted by Alex Soon | 2010-08-23, 08:22
  3. Hi Joy!I am currently an undergraduate student in Industrial Engineering. I picked major based on my skills rather than my interest since I donot have preference on the major (to be honest, I donot have anything I desire to do). I am trying to find intership and when the company asked me what position do I prefer, I would say manufacturing or logistics which are related to IE. However, since I am an international student, I’d rather try everything to get a job, but that may not look professional. Then how can I deal with those type of questions about what you want to do when you come to our company?

    Posted by Qingfeng | 2010-10-02, 21:54
    • Dear Zhang: Thanks for your email. It’s true that companies are looking for passionate young people, so rather than try to trick them, I think that the first thing you need to do is to find something you ARE passionate about! I have blogged about how to find the perfect career for you, so feel free to look around this blog to find some tips on how to do that. Good luck. Joy

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2010-10-03, 08:11
  4. Dear Joy,

    it is so nice to read your blog again..

    we always feel hard to find a “perfect”job for yourself, but seldom think about how to manage it become a job we love..

    thanks for enlightenment. 🙂

    Posted by BETTY | 2010-10-08, 15:07
  5. JOY,你好!我的专业是临床医学,可是我花了很长时间才发现,我可能适合做人力资源管理的工作。
    我喜欢和人沟通,观察别人。我喜欢接触优秀的人,从他们身上总能得到启发,就如你给我们无数亮点一样。每次和他们交流,我都能挖掘我想要的,当然他们也毫不吝啬的赠予。我能够从中获取快乐,每一次经历,都让我觉得充实有力。
    我想我必须提高我的英语水平。我对心理感兴趣可以去心理医院实习。学习一些人力管理的知识,并通过关系网寻求实习单位。
    我想,你能给我些建议吗~

    Posted by SHORE | 2012-06-21, 07:16

Post a Comment