Finding yourself

Forget about straight-A’s. Focus on your A+ skills.

To be considered successful as a student (and I know you’ve been successful as a student), you pretty much need to get all A’s. If you’re like most people, certain subjects come naturally. Those are your A+ subjects. And then there are the others, where you have to work or else you’ll get a B+, or B, or even worse. Those are the subjects that you have to invest in to maintain your A average.

Wipe all that from your mind as you consider your career options. When it comes to your career, you should forget about all your B, B+, A- and A subjects, and focus on the areas where you are naturally an A+.

As a civic official and then as a recruiter, I’ve met and interviewed thousands of highly successful people. CEOs of big companies. Top global professionals. Celebrities in all walks of life. Completely diverse personalities, ways of life, and career paths. There is one thing that they all have in common, and that is that each has built a careers around the skills that he or she naturally excels in.

Successful people focus on their A+ skills

This is a little counterintuitive, I think particularly for us Chinese, because we’re accustomed to 吃苦(“chi ku,” eat bitterness), and working hard. We think: work should be hard. But what I’ve learned over the years is that, yes, work should be challenging, but you should base it around skills which are easy to you.

This point was brought home to me in my own career.

The uncomfortable way I found my own calling

I started my career in real estate development. I was romanced by the idea of it. I wanted to dream about the future, and build wonderful spaces for people to work and play in, and in which to live and raise their kids.

I thought I was pretty successful. I worked in a small firm where I worked closely with the senior partners. I even picked up two graduate degrees: an MBA in real-estate finance, and an M.A. in urban planning. In my mind, I was headed for a great career as a powerful real estate developer.

I’d had no interest in politics when mutual friends introduced me to the new mayor and suddenly I was asked to be a Deputy Mayor at age 31. OK, I figured, I’d spend a few years doing some good in the world, and then return to real-estate development with some new great experiences and contacts.

So, as our term neared an end, I confidentially contacted a friend who was the real-estate practice head at Heidrick & Struggles, the global executive search firm. We went to breakfast.

Me: “Hey, John, it’s time. I’m ready to come back to real estate.”

Him: “Joy, you’re leaving a high-profile position at a relatively young age. Many people are watching, so you’ll want to make sure your next move is a really successful one.”

Me: “Of course! Isn’t that why we’re meeting?”

Him: “So…. you’ll want to make sure that you choose a career path which will make you highly successful.”

This conversation was starting to make me nervous.

Me: “Isn’t that real estate development? Am I not a great developer? And do I not have two graduate degrees in this area?”

Him:  “Joy, I’m not saying you’re not a great developer. But, to be perfectly honest, there are some developers, even here in Los Angeles, who are even better than you. I’m your friend and I want to see you succeed. You should focus on your true strengths.”

I saw my life flash before my eyes. I was only 35. Had my career already peaked? Was this the start of the long decline of my career and life?

Me: “I thought my true strength was real-estate development.”

Him: “What I see is that you are constantly connecting with people. You can talk with a CEO, you can talk with a homeless person. You are generous. You instinctively sense what it is people need, and you find a way to deliver it to them. To do this, you’re constantly connecting ideas in new ways. You do these things better than anyone I’ve ever met.”

Me: “OK…  but what does that mean for my next job? Should I get into Marketing?”

Him: “No, I think of Marketing as one-to-many messaging. Your skills are more personal, one-to-one. I think you should seriously consider a career in executive search. And I’d like to introduce you to our firm.”

That conversation changed my life. I entered recruiting, and joined Heidrick & Struggles.

As I look back, those A+ skills that my friend identified in me have indeed been the key skills that made me successful both as a civic leader and as a recruiter. The media were not interested in me when I was a real-estate developer. That’s because any real mark I’ve left on the world so far has been in my later work.

When I was a developer, work was work and play was play. I am more joyful now because my work now is an extension of who I am, and while work is challenging, it is also a form of self-expression. Now the lines between work and play are blurred.

Find passions within your A+ strengths

This is really the trick behind the Venn diagram I showed you in my blog post on taking charge of your career. It’s a series of concentric circles, as the things you REALLY REALLY WANT TO DO are situated firmly within the things you CAN DO best.

So this is the secret behind all those super-successful people I’ve met over the years. They are not superhuman and if you sit down and evaluate them, as I do as a recruiter, you’ll find they are not A+ in all areas. They are just A+ in the very specific skills that are important to the careers that they’ve chosen.

What are your A+ skills?

I was lucky to have had a perceptive recruiter who’d known me well for years come along and accurately sum up my best strengths. When he did so, my first reaction was confusion. Yes, I thought, I love throwing parties in the evenings and weekends, and connecting interesting people. But that’s not work! I couldn’t believe that “connecting with people” and “connecting ideas” could even be considered skills. I thought that skills were things that were hard and had to be learned, like finance, or Latin.

What are your A+ skills? What comes so naturally to you that when you are doing it, it feels like you’re just breathing and reveling in life on earth?

If you don’t know, try this:

  1. Survey your closest friends and family members: What do they think you do best? When they think of you, what adjectives come to mind?
  2. Think about your greatest one or two accomplishments to date. What are you proudest of that you’ve done? What have you done that, when you were doing it, the work was so involving and felt so natural that you lost track of time and you felt, “Wow, this is amazing, I was put on earth to do this.” It doesn’t have to be in the context of a job. It could have happened while you were studying something, or during an extracurricular activity. It doesn’t have to be something that other people consider your best accomplishments or that was written up in a newspaper. Just what made you proudest and most satisfied. What were the key skills that you exercised in accomplishing that?

When you have a theory of your A+ strengths, research the jobs that would best leverage those strengths. And then find 10 companies that are growing in areas that offer those jobs.

Finding your strengths and your passions is a process of lifelong self-discovery. Not only will they unfold to you over time, but they also will evolve over time as you grow as a person.

By working to focus your career around your A+ strengths, you’ll soar. You’ll gravitate toward jobs that use you well, and that inspire your passion. And, you will be successful.

I welcome your comments, in Chinese or English, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

寻找真我

放弃拿到全A,专攻你的A+技能

你如果有一份全A的成绩单,大家就都会觉得你是好学生(我知道在读我博客的你们都是很优秀的学生)。如果你跟大多数人一样,总有一些学科对你来说学起来是轻而易举的。你会很容易的在这些你的拿手学科上拿到A+。当然,还有一些学科,是你必须很努力的钻研才能拿到好成绩的。这些学科,你如果不认真去学,就有可能拿B+甚至是B。这些学科就是你需要花精力和时间去兼顾来维护你的全A成绩单的学科。

在你的脑海里,你也许已经为你将来的职业道路想出了无数的可能性。但从现在开始,我希望你们能删掉那些跟你最优秀的技能无关的职业规划。当你选择一份职业的时候,应该先把你只能做到B,B+,A-和A的领域排除掉,把注意力集中在那些你很自然就能拿到A+的领域上。

曾经任职政府以及后来成为一名猎头顾问,都让我拥有了很多面试顶级成功人士的机会。大企业的首席执行官,高级全球专业人士或者各界名人。这些人有完全不一样的性格,生活方式和职业道路。但是有一样东西是这些人身上共通的。他们都不约而同地围绕自己很自然就能做到最优秀的技能上规划自己的职业道路。

成功人士专注于发挥他们的A+技能

这可能跟我们中国人的价值观有那么一点不同,因为我们总是习惯于用“吃苦耐劳”的精神来规范自己。我们觉得:工作应该不容易。但是就我过去的经验告诉我,的确,工作是需要有挑战性,但是有挑战性的工作是应该建立在那些对你来说简单的技能上的。

这也让我想到了我自己的职业道路。

在让我很不舒服的情况下我明白了自己擅长的领域

我的职业之路是从房地产开发开始的。最开始的时候,我觉得房地产开发是一个很浪漫的职业。那时候,我喜欢对未来做各种规划,也希望为人们建造可以工作,娱乐,居住和培养他们的孩子的房产。

我曾经觉得我非常的成功。最开始的时候,我在一个小的房地产开发公司工作。在那里,我每天都能接触到公司的高层。我甚至拿到了两个研究生学位:一个关于地产金融的工商管理硕士,一个城市规划硕士。在我看来,我一直都在往成为一个成功的地产开发商的道路上前进着。

在我31岁的时候,一个我和当时洛杉矶市长共通的朋友把我介绍给了洛杉矶市长。也是因为这次介绍,我被洛杉矶市长任命为副市长。但是,那时候的我对政治一点兴趣都没有。我想,我应该只是要花几年的时间做一些对世界有用的事情,然后我就会带着在做副市长期间积累的经验和人脉回到地产界。

所以,当我任期将满的时候,我私下联系了一个当时在海德思哲(全球最大的提供企业领袖搜寻和企业领导资讯服务的公司)地产部工作的朋友。我们一起去吃了一顿早餐。

我说:“John,我觉得我是时候要回到地产界了。”

他说:“Joy,你在这么年轻的时候就离开了一个这么高的职位。很多人    都在看你的下一步将会去哪里。所以,你必须要保证你的下一步走的非    常成功。

我说:“那当然啊,这难道不是我们为什么要见面的原因么?“

他说:“所以…你必须要确保找到一个能让你很成功的职业道路。”

跟他之间的对话开始让我觉得紧张了。

我说:“难道不是地产开发么?我难道不是一个好的地产开发商么?我    难道没有两个在这个领域的研究生学位么?

他说:“Joy,我不是说你不是一个好的地产商。但是,绝对诚实地跟你    说,有很多地产商都比你优秀,甚至在洛杉矶地区,都有几个比你优秀 的地产商。我是你的朋友,我希望看到你成功。你应该在你的强项上    发展你的事业。”

天哪,那一刻我仿佛看到我过去的人生像演电影一样在我眼前掠过。我才35岁。难道我事业的巅峰已经过去了?难道我事业的下坡路就要从现在开始了么?

我说:“我以为我的强项就是地产开发。”

他说:“在我看来你经常跟不同的人打交道。你可以跟首席执行官们自    如地交谈,也可以跟流浪汉聊上一会儿。你是一个很大方的人。你能感 觉到人们需要什么,也能找到给予他们这些需要的方法。要做到这些,    你时常把不同的点子集合起来找到新的路子。你在这方面做的比我认识    的任何一个人都要好。”

我说:“好把…那你的意思是我应该去做市场营销了?”

他说:“不,我觉得市场营销是一种一对众的交流。你的技能更偏向于    私人的。一对一的交流。我觉得你应该认真地考虑进入高端经理人搜寻    领域。我很乐意把你介绍到我们公司。”

这次对话改变了我的人生。我进入了猎头行业,加入了海德思哲。

现在,当我回头看过去,那些我朋友告诉我关于我身上的A+技能的确是我在公共服务领域和猎头领域成功的关键。传媒在我还是地产开发商的时候对我毫无兴趣。那是因为我真正被人所注意到的特质要在我日后的工作中才显现出来。

当我还是开发商的时候,工作是工作玩乐是玩乐。我现在比那时候更开心。那是因为,我的工作是我自身的延续。虽然这份工作很有挑战性,但却是一种自我表达的形式。现在,工作和玩乐之间的界限变得很模糊。

在你的A+技能中寻找激情

这就是我在上一篇博客掌握你的职业之路中给大家看的图标背后的秘密。在那些同心圆中,你“最最想做的”事情是被你能“做到最好”的事情的圆所包围的。

所以,这就是我这些年来遇见的成功人士背后的秘密。他们不是超人。如果你有机会坐下来跟他们交谈并且评估他们,你就会发现,他们并不是在每个领域都能做到A+。他们只是在那些对他们职业之路重要的领域里做到了A+。

什么是你的A+技能?

我很幸运,有一位跟我认识很多年而且观察敏锐的招聘者准确地总结了我的长处。当他说出我的长处的时候,我的第一反应却是疑惑的。的确,我想,我喜欢在晚上或者周末举办聚会,跟有趣的朋友建立交往。但那不是工作!我以前一直不相信“跟人交往”和“融会贯通各种想法”能被称为是技能。我一直以为所谓的技能都是很难的,需要时间去学习的。比如说金融或者是拉丁语。

什么是你的A+技能?什么对你来说做起来最自然,就像在呼吸或者最自然地表露在你生命中的那些事情?

如果你不知道,试试以下的建议:

  1. 在你最亲近的朋友和家庭成员中做个调查: 他们觉得你做的最好的事情是什么?当他们想到你的时候,他们会想到什么?
  2. 想想你到今天为止做的最成功的一到两件事。你为你做过什么感到最骄傲?你在做那件事情的时候,你做到了什么。那份工作发展的很顺利,以致让你忘记了时间。那份工作也让你觉得“哇,这实在是太棒了,我做这件事情让我觉得很踏实。”这种情况不一定是要在你正式的工作中发生。这种情况可以在你学习或者在做课外活动的时候发生。这不必是别人都认为是你做的最好的事情,也不必被写进报纸。就是那种让觉得最骄傲最满足的事情。有什么技能是你在做那件事的时候运用过的?

当你找到了什么是你的A+强项,就开始寻找那些可以最好发挥这些强项的工作吧。然后就找10个提供这种工作机会的公司。

找到你的长项和激情是一个一辈子自我发现的过程。这些长项和激情不但会随时间的推移对你慢慢展开,而且也会在你成长的过程中发生变化。

围绕你的A+长项展开你的职业规划,你将会成功。你将会被适合你的工作吸引。然后这些工作会启发你的激情并让你变的很成功。

此博客的英文版请点击如下链接.

Discussion

12 Responses to “放弃拿到全A,专攻你的A+技能”

  1. 谢谢您的精彩文章!当我自己思考或者与朋友家人交流时,我感觉的确可以发现自己的一些爱好与长处,但是这些要么与我目前学习的专业无关(如我现在学的金融,课下却对平面设计情有独钟),要么我并不知道这些长处更适合去做什么职业(如我感觉自己的领导力强,但却不知道这样的长处指向什么职业)。请您赐教!

    Posted by pumpkin | 2011-03-08, 04:45
    • Yingying: You make two excellent points. Finding your strengths and passions is a lifelong process and is something that does unfold over time. Also, all the great achievers of the world have coupled their natural strengths with lots of hard work! Pumpkin, I think that you should not limit your career choices to your academic area of study. Many of the world’s successful people are working in areas that have nothing to do with their academic majors. After you’ve identified your best strengths, start spending some serious time on the web finding people who share those passions and study their careers and what they are working on now. All the best, Joy

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2011-03-08, 05:19
  2. 恩,找到自己擅长的东西,做到极致就是成功.有些人是不知道自己喜欢或擅长什么,但也有些人是擅长的太多以至于无从选择.我大概属于后者,可是,虽然做什么都会很快上手并且吸收理解,但是总是到了后面就遇到颈瓶,做不到比别人都好或是拥有别人无法代替的程度.所以,这让我很困惑,不知道什么才真的是自己擅长的,怕选择错误浪费了最好的学习时机.

    Posted by 牧静荑Ago | 2011-03-08, 10:27
    • Ago, this is a common issue faced by people who are good at many things and highly adaptable. The good news is that the future will belong to people who are flexible and adaptable in this way. I think that for such people (and I’m this way too), finding the right career(s) is an evolutionary process. You can start by developing theories on interesting potential careers, and then finding people and forums on the web full of people doing those things, and thinking to yourself, does this feel right to me? Don’t worry too much about finding the “right” major at school. School should be about exploration – most important is not necessarily the knowledge that you are gaining, but the skill of learning how to learn.

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2011-03-08, 11:09
  3. 我觉得人生就是一个寻找的过程。我们永远不知道什么是我们最强的强项。也许我们在某个时刻觉得自已有好多个A+,不知道选哪个。也许觉得自己都是A-,没有一个擅长。
    但我想每个人都有梦想,只要你有梦想,你就能找到让你充满激情去完成的任务。也许你并不擅长,但是你可以学习,你可以很开心地经历这个过程。
    对于成功,A+ A-的标准因人而异,而所谓的杰出也没有固定标准。什么阶段该选择什么样的任务,很难用量化的细节来衡量,因为没人能精确地预测和刻画你的未来。
    但是内心的渴望和梦想,永远都在那里给我们指着方向,就看我们是否足够勇敢去直面挑战。
    追寻梦想,勇敢去实现的人,在他们征途的开始就足以让人敬佩。
    而如果遇上良师益友,导引得当,他们的潜能可以远远超出自己的想象。

    Posted by 张立松 | 2011-03-08, 16:47
    • 立松, thank you for your words. They are as wise as they are beautiful. I agree with you that one should do what one does well but above all, one should pursue one’s passion. If one can derive meaning from one’s work, that is a wonderful thing indeed.

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2011-03-09, 01:11
  4. Right. Sometimes I need a period of time to understand whether I am good at something, and maybe after a while, it comes out that I am not fit for it.

    However, don’t simply make such decision. Sometimes we just need to spend a long time in learning & practice, and after really working hard, we could tell whether we hate to learn or just fall in love with it.

    Posted by Yingying | 2011-03-08, 04:45
  5. That’s a wonderful sharing story. After working different job and different industry for about 18 years, I will ask my close friends same questions:What do they think you do best? When they think of you, what adjectives come to mind?
    Thanks Joy, that’s very useful.

    Posted by Ellen Chen | 2011-03-11, 00:37
  6. 我从来没得过A+,相信很多中国学生都如此。即使得A+也不代表擅长的。我知道我有点专牛角尖了。你要表述的是做你擅长的事情。
    现在我取得的成果都是经历过痛苦时期得到的,我为自己感到高兴。可能你会说这不是我擅长的事情。哎,看来得慢慢找了。或许找到的时候就面临着另一种选择。

    Posted by bb | 2011-05-17, 14:38
  7. hi, Joy. fully agree with you. In the past 2 years, I tried to challenge myself to move two of my B- to A, but I faied and I felt very bad to fight against myself acctually.While this July I made the decision to focus on my A+, now I feel very good when doing what I am really good at.

    also I started to read your book from this month. Not finish yet, but I already got a lot of “positive energy” from it.
    Thank you!

    Posted by Summer Cheng | 2012-09-25, 01:21
  8. 你好!今天碰巧看到自己在博客里面保存的网址链接,才能够又看到许多你写的文章。特别是在一段准备离职重新找工作,思考职业方向的时刻看到,真是太幸运了。
    留言是想看看,是否能幸运的得到一些你的看法。 我想起大学同学曾经让我给她介绍书籍,说我总能找到好看的书。当然,我只觉得我找到了自己感兴趣的书而已。所以,就建议她也自己去找。不知道这是否算技能,或者说有什么提示吗?

    Posted by shan | 2013-09-10, 00:09

Post a Comment