How to become a leader

Find mentors to spur your career

People often scratch their heads and wonder how I was appointed Deputy Mayor at age 31, just 10 years after graduating from college and moving to Los Angeles where I knew no one. I can understand their surprise. After all, I’m a child of immigrants who struggled to learn English and to fit in. I’m perhaps slightly above-average in some areas – intelligence, looks, talents – while below-average in other areas, such as height and weight.

Great mentors were important to my journey. This is a story of one of my mentors, and how to develop mentors for yourself.

When I graduated from Duke in 1991, I was drawn to Los Angeles by its glamour and good weather.

How I found my greatest mentor

Maureen, in her 70s, receives her M.A. in education

Shortly after arriving, I signed up for an Asian Pacific Women’s Network event. There, I met a woman who later invited me out with her neighbor, a lobbyist named Maureen Kindel. In America, while mayors and governors rotate in and out of office, “kingmakers” like Maureen help decide who gets elected to what position. Behind the scenes, they pull the strings that make government run.

Maureen embraced me into her life, and over time, I became known as “Maureen’s Chinese daughter.”  She loved to entertain, but hated sending out invitations and organizing the events. So I jumped in, helping her with the details while she played hostess par excellence. Our Saturday night dinner parties and poker nights were legendary among California’s business and political leaders.

From Maureen, I learned how to connect with people of diverse backgrounds.  Maureen is one of the world’s most artful, generous, lively and charming personalities. She’s a voracious learner and can converse on any subject.  She understands power and how to wield it.

Maureen continues to surprise, delight and attract many, men as well as women. A few years ago when she turned 70, she sat before her birthday cake and said “The only thing that surprises me at age 70 is … that I am still SUCH a FOX!”  She has not stopped.  She’s returned to school and is now working on her doctorate in education. When you and I are her age, may we all share her capacity for joy and learning.

To cultivate a mentor, become an indispensable assistant

Maureen, my mother and me at my wedding

When I think about our mentoring relationship, I’m reminded of the wise words of another close friend, Joel Kurtzman, who is one of the world’s top business strategists and a former Editor-in-Chief of the Harvard Business Review. Joel says that most highly successful people have been blessed with mentors, and the way to develop someone as a mentor is to become his or her “indispensable assistant.”

To mentor you, someone need not to be as powerful and distinctive as Maureen. He or she just needs to be someone from whom you can learn, and in fact, you can learn from everyone. When you find someone you’d like to have as a mentor, find a way to become an indispensable assistant.

Find virtual mentors online

Meanwhile, study remarkable people from afar.  The WWW is an incredible resource which did not exist when I was starting out in my career. Marketer Hajj Flemings points out that many outstanding people mentor millions virtually:

When was the last time you read a blog post or followed someone on Twitter and the light went on for you? … These brief points of interaction can be as impactful as spending 3 or 4 hours with a person in a face-to-face mentoring session.

In this way, I have developed many online mentors whom I’ve never met. I follow a wide range of people, including: philanthropist Bill Gates, technology leaders Robert Scoble and Guy Kawasaki, marketing leader Seth Godin, economist Tyler Cowen, NY Times columnist Tom Friedman, GE’s Jack Welch, Google CEO Eric Schmidt, venture capitalist Vinod Khosla, and media moguls Oprah and Martha Stewart. I try to retweet the tweets that I find most helpful, so if you want to see those, you can follow me at @globalrencai.

If you’d like to share your own list of great people to follow, on Twitter, Renren, SINA or other resources, please post them in the Comments section of this blog post.

Having had such great mentors, I now am blessed with the chance to give back. I can’t fill all the requests for personal mentoring which I receive, so I started this blog, to help virtually mentor the millions of young Chinese who will build the future of China and by extension shape our world. To help with this, I’ve just hired a small team of elite Communications student interns from USC.  Here at www.GlobalRencai.com, we look forward to expanding our range of information, videos, interviews and other resources to help accelerate your career. So if you’d like to take advantage of this, subscribe your email address above if you haven’t already.

Potential Mentors are Everywhere

Every highly successful person I’ve met has had mentors and heroes who inspired their own greatness. Find mentors who can serve as role models for you. They are all around you, in person and online.

*
I welcome your comment, in English or Chinese, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

如何成为一名领导者

如何寻找鞭策你的职场导师

人们常常抓破脑袋也想不通我是如何从一个一文不名的外地毕业生变成一名31岁的洛杉矶副市长的,更何况那时离我从大学毕业搬到洛杉矶才十年时间。其实,我很理解人们为何如此惊讶,毕竟我也只是一个移民家庭的小孩,也曾经为学习英语和融入美国社会而奋斗。也许我在某些方面有优势,比如有智慧、长相不错、颇有才华。但在其他方面,我却不如大多数人,例如在身高和体重方面。

于是寻找优秀的职场导师来指引我不断向前,成为了我走向成功的不可或缺的因素。今天我要讲的正是我的一位导师的故事,以及你们应该如何为自己寻找到适合你们自身的职场导师。

1991年从杜克大学毕业后,我被洛杉矶迷人的魅力和令人心旷神怡的阳光所吸引,决定搬到洛杉矶。

如何找到我最重要的导师

Maureen在70多岁时获得了教育学硕士学位

到洛杉矶后不久,我就参加了一个“亚太女性联盟”举办的活动。在那里我遇见了Maureen Kindel,她后来邀请我跟她和她的邻居们一起出去玩。Maureen是一名政治说客。在美国,市长和州长的人选不断变化,像Maureen这样的“拥王者”对谁当选什么政治职位是有着一定的影响力的。从某个角度可以说这些政治说客在幕后“操纵”着政府的运作。

Maureen把我纳入她的生活圈子,渐渐地我变成了她的“中国女儿”。她很喜欢招待朋友举行聚会,但是却很不喜欢做那些发邀请、组织活动的工作。于是让我发光发热的机会来了。我帮她处理那些琐碎的细节,让她能专注于扮演完美女主人的角色。毫不夸张的说,那时我们的周末晚餐聚会以及扑克牌娱乐聚会一直被加州商界政界精英所津津乐道。

从Maureen身上我学会了如何与不同背景的人打交道。她是世界上最机敏、大方、活泼且有魅力的人。她求知若渴且知识渊博,她不仅懂得权力的重要性,还懂得如何运用权力。

一直以来,Maureen的魅力使得许多人都为之赞叹。几年前在她的70岁生日聚会上,她坐在她的生日蛋糕前说:“身为一个70岁的老人家,我发现我居然还是这么地老滑头!”就算年纪这么大了,她也没有放弃学习。她现在又重新回到学校去攻读教育学博士。真希望我们到她这样的年纪时还能够如此地豁达而博学。

要想某人变成你的导师,先要成为他的得力助手

当我回顾我与Maureen的“导师-学生”关系时,我想到了我另外一位好友Joel Kurtzman的话。Joel是位世界顶级的商业战略家,曾经是《哈佛商业评论》的主编。他曾说,每一位成功人士都受教于他们的导师,而把自己变成导师不可缺少的助手是离导师更近一步的途径。

在我的婚礼上,Maureen、我母亲和我

你的职场导师其实并不一定需要像Maureen这样独特有权力,只要你能够从他们身上学到东西就足够了。事实上,三人行必有我师。一旦你找到了一个非常适合当你职场导师的人,你需要做的,就是试着去变成他不可或缺的助手。

网上寻找虚拟导师

你也可以从那些遥远的成功人士身上学到东西。互联网是一个神奇的资源库,我刚工作时互联网还不存在呢。营销人Hajj Flemings指出那些杰出人士实际上是千千万万普通人的虚拟导师:

最后一次你从别人的博客或者微博找到灵感是什么时候?……那些简单的互动的效果其实不比3-4个小时的指导会面效果差。

根据这个思路,我发掘了许多我从未谋面的互联网职场导师。在Twitter上我是许多人的“粉丝”,比如:慈善家比尔•盖茨、科技精英Robert ScobleGuy Kawasaki、营销精英赛斯•高汀、经济学家泰勒•考恩、《纽约时报》专栏作家Tom Friedman、通用电气公司的Jack Welch、谷歌的CEO Eric Schmidt、风险投资家Vinod Khosla以及传媒女王奥普拉•温弗瑞Martha Stewart。我会努力转发那些我认为最有用的微博,如果你对此有兴趣可以加我的Twitter:@globalrencai

如果你希望分享你自己Twitter、人人、新浪微博里的职场导师名单,你可以把他们的名字放在这篇博客的评论栏中。

拥有这么多导师的帮助,我现在终于有机会能够回报大家。我没法对每一个人的请求都做出回复,所以我开设了这个博客,以虚拟职场导师的身份来帮助中国的年轻人——中国未来的中坚力量。为了更好地完成这个使命,我刚刚聘请了南加州大学的学生小团队。希望www.GlobalRenCai.com上越来越多的信息、视频、采访等的资源能够帮助你来加快事业前进的步伐。如果你想充分利用这个机会,请在我们的网站输入你的电子邮箱地址,订阅我们最新的资讯和博客。

潜在的导师无处不在

我认识的每一个成功人士都有一个启发他们的职场导师。努力寻找可以作为你榜样的导师吧,他们就在你的身边!

Discussion

12 Responses to “如何寻找鞭策你的职场导师”

  1. 这篇文章写得太好了,很受用!

    参加这样的社团很有用,我也得多发掘一下,相信不久之后我也能遇到我的mentor。

    嗯,文中提到的还有很重要的一点,就是愿意去为他人做出细小琐碎的事,而且认真去做,这样才能够得到他人的信任,才能让他人愿意帮助自己。

    Posted by Yingying | 2010-09-07, 00:26
  2. Hi Joy,

    Thank you so much for being my virtual mentor! I definitely enjoyed meeting and talking with you in person.

    I hope you have a great start to the week! 😀

    <3 Carrie

    Posted by Carrie Gan | 2010-09-07, 23:50
  3. Joy,

    I have really enjoyed reading your blogs for some time now. This article really strikes a cord.

    This is not just about mentors, it is also about having the heart.

    Kevin

    Posted by Kevin Tan | 2010-09-10, 05:28
  4. I feel so excited, when I found this place. Actually, I have been US for about one year. I still feel I can’t get involved in this society.

    Most international students are only focusing on their course work, hope to get Full GPA and then apply a great graduate school. Personaly, I think it might be wrong. I know we should attend some activities. But it is really difficult, beacause of our status , some language problem, and some culture barriers. Do you have some good suggestions for those so many international students? It will be very helpful for us to plan our future map

    Posted by Flora Liu | 2010-09-26, 03:47
    • Flora, thanks for your note and welcome to the blog! Great question. In fact, my next blog post is titled “How to make small talk with 老外” ! So, if you’re not yet subscribed, enter your email address above and you’ll get it in a few days. Best wishes, Joy

      Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2010-09-26, 09:47
  5. 陈愉姐姐你好,我是一个刚刚高考完的大一新生,我的人生刚刚掌握到自己手中……看了你的博客,我觉得很受用。虽然高考失利,但是我不能因此失去方向,我想你的文章一定会很好地帮助我掌牢人生的舵~~姐姐的博客真的很有意义啊!(*^__^*)

    Posted by Claire | 2010-09-28, 16:34
  6. 亲爱的Joy, 你好!
    很开心,我的名字也是Joy.十分感谢你的分享,特别是中国毕业的大学生,很缺乏职业方面的指导.我把你的博客收为收藏夹.会常常关注:) 谢谢你

    Posted by Joy Xu | 2011-03-27, 00:41
  7. Hi Joy, it’s really a great chance to know your blog here which I benifits a lot here, you are the role model of mine.

    Posted by Molly Zhang | 2011-05-10, 00:47
  8. Thanks for this Blog!! As a recent graduate without finding a job so far,this blog is really inspiring me!! Thank you so much for sharing all these experience.

    Posted by Ellen Chen | 2011-05-19, 05:40
  9. 平时喜欢上网看看一些故事,谈及到理想、梦想、奋斗、人生、生活、细节技巧等等。成功人士的思想,性质上跟“网上虚拟导师”有些相似作用。在作家赵格羽的微博上看到,“所谓同理心,就是能够去理解和感知别人情绪的能力。包括:1、理解他人的性格、观点、动机和价值观,2、建立深层次的有意义的个人关系和职业关系,3、恰当而有效地回应他人。——陈愉”,很认同这个观点。所以在百度百科里了解到“陈愉”,Joy您深深地吸引了我,很高兴找到这里,http://www.globalrencai.com。

    Posted by 爱生活 | 2013-06-22, 02:12

Post a Comment