Finding yourself

Even a successful woman can be a fox

To hear Joy read this post in English, subscribe to the GlobalRencai podcast on iTunes, or hear or download the MP3 here.

In the romantic movie “I Do” now playing in Chinese theaters, the actress Li Bingbing (love her!) plays a successful 38-year-old businesswoman unlucky in love.  Disregarding pressure from her peers and society that she escape her leftover status, she insists on finding true love.

In real life, Li Bingbing, also 38 and single and facing many of the questions facing her character in the movie, suggests that we change the term “leftover women” (剩女) to “flower blossom women” (盛女).  I love it! “Blossoming” is such a great concept because it evokes a flower who is beautiful in herself.

But, as her character finds in the movie, when you’re a woman, having a successful career is both good and bad for your love life.  It’s good because good men like independent women, and women like us know how to be independent.  But it can be bad because the behaviors we develop for a successful career can be the wrong behaviors for success in the love department.

Seems more than a little unfair, doesn’t it?  For men, a successful career and successful love life go together.  For us women, it’s a bit more complicated.

For a woman, does a successful career lead to an unsuccessful love life?

This is a question I’ve wrestled with in my own life.

As women who achieve, we’re used to proving ourselves constantly.  No matter how successful we become, people see us first as women, and so it becomes second nature to demonstrate to everyone exactly how outstanding we are.  Those of us who climbed our way up the corporate ladder did so by climbing over the men and besting them at their own aggressive male behaviors.

But when a man likes you he’s not looking for a partner in business – he’s looking for a partner in life.  If you confuse this and behave on a date the way you act in everyday life – impressive – you may impress him with your intelligence and capability, and he may want to hire you or do business with you, but that doesn’t mean he’ll want to date you.

So, when you’re on a date don’t be the Boss Lady.  Don’t talk business, and don’t try to attract him with your business acumen.  Don’t display your debating powers; don’t try to trump his comments.  You might see yourself as capable, modern, persuasive and confident, having a fun intellectual exchange.  But to him you may be coming across as competitive and argumentative.  He’s not looking for a lawyer; he’s looking for a girlfriend.

Yep, I’ve made all those mistakes myself

All this took me many years and a lot of wasted dates to figure out.  Because I am the Boss Lady.  For years, that was me, treating first dates like business dinners, showing off my independence, demonstrating that I am just fine without a man.  But just because you don’t need a man does not mean that that’s the right attitude to lead with on a date.  The bigger your job, the harder it is – and more impressive it is to him – for you to not talk about work, and just be a woman and a human being.

What should you talk about? Personal things. Your family.  Movies you’ve seen.  Where you’ve traveled. What you like to do for fun.  Something other than work, anything other than work.  Rather than go into performing mode, reach out and ask about him.

Right about now, some of you may be getting irritated.  You might be saying, “But Joy, this is just how I am!  My work is who I am!  I love competition!  I love talking shop.  Are you trying to push us women back to the Dark Ages?”

I know how you feel.  We behave in ways for which we’re rewarded.  In the workplace, we’re rewarded for being capable and, that’s right, for being “male.”  Is it unfair for the world to demand that after work we switch sides and become “female”?

Depends on how you look at it.  It’s not unfair, if being “female” is being nice, and gracious, and reaching out to really connect with another human being.  That’s just good behavior for any relationship.

Stop impressing, and start receiving the love of a good man

A man may not want someone simple, dumb and uncomplicated, but that doesn’t mean he’s looking for a work colleague in his home.  He’s not taking his female work colleague off on a glamorous vacation or making passionate love to her.  He’s debating company strategy with her.  He does respect her, but he doesn’t want to come home to her after a long day of work.

He’s looking for the woman of his dreams, the woman whom he’ll love and be successful for.  So don’t try to persuade him that you are deserving.  You are deserving!  You’re a queen!  He wants to deserve you!  One reason that love is hardest for successful women is that we need to learn to stop impressing, and start receiving the love of a good man.

Anytime you worry too much about someone else’s approval, that person will lose respect for you.  Let him earn your love.

Let there be a 9:00am you and a 9:00pm you

You’re a successful woman, which means that you are highly capable at modifying your behavior for success.  Just as you’ve learned how to modify your behavior to make it in a man’s world at work, now modify your behaviors to relate to those same men after work.

Let there be a 9:00 a.m. you, and a 9:00 p.m. you.  Think of how you’ll be someday with your own children, or how you are now with your niece or nephew.  You don’t give them a speech in your rockin’ high heels and Prada suit.  No, you kick off your heels and you smother them in love.  You reveal different sides of yourself with different people.  When you’re with him, let the gorgeous self shine.

Don’t get mad at the unfairness of it all.  There are worse things in life.  If you let him treat you like the queen that you are, then you’ll never feel like you need to choose between a great career and a great man.  You’ll be able to enjoy both.  Besides, after working so hard at the office, just sitting back and being beautiful like a flower blossom, and letting a good man take care of you can be –really nice.

** L.A. area friends, please join me for a very special interactive discussion about the choices facing us in life, career and love.  I’ve spent the past year thinking about these issues for my book, and will share with you some real-life experiences, lessons and regrets from my own career and love life. This event will be held in Chinese and will be especially directed at modern Chinese women.  Men interested in eavesdropping on the discussion are welcome to attend as well. Friday March 30 from 1:30-3:30p on USC Campus. Details here.

 

 

Comments welcome, in Chinese, on the Chinese version of this post, here.
To hear Joy read this post in English, subscribe to the GlobalRencai podcast on iTunes, or hear or download the MP3 here.

“现代生活”专栏 / 寻找真我 / 男女必知

成功女人也可以是妖精

听陈愉用英文朗读这篇博文,请到Global Rencai的iTunes主页上订阅,收听及下载,请点击这里。阅读此博文英文链接,请点击这里

在浪漫爱情剧《我愿意》中,李冰冰(喜欢她!)饰演了一位38岁的职场得意情场失意的成功“熟女”。尽管有来自好友和社会的压力催促她赶紧结束单身状态,她依然不放弃对真爱的追求。

现实生活中,李冰冰也是38岁,也是单身,面临着跟影片中的角色一样的问题。她提出了一个建议:用“盛女”代替“剩女”。我非常同意!“盛女”是如此美好的概念:鲜花盛开,本自美丽!

不过,正如影片中所揭示,生为一个女人,事业成功对你的爱情生活来说好坏参半。好处是,优秀的男人欣赏独立女性,而我们这样的女性知道如何独立;坏处是,我们在事业中成功的做法在感情生活里往往行不通。

听上去有些不公平,不是吗?凭什么男人就可以职场情场双丰收,而女人就不见得那么回事呢?

生为女人,职场得意往往意味着情场失意?

这是一个让我纠结了多年的问题。

有成就的女性会习惯性地不停证明自己。而无论我们有多么成功,别人都会先把我们看做是女人,所以别忙着向别人展示我们到底有多么优秀。那些在职位上成功超越男性的女人,是通过在男人擅长的领域超越他们,而做到这一点的。

而当一个男人喜欢你的时候,他可不是在寻找生意伙伴,他是在找生活中的伴侣。如果你把这两样弄混了,在约会的时候也想像在日常生活中一样让人印象深刻,那么给他深刻印象的或许是你的能力和头脑,让他想要请你帮他做事、跟你合作也说不定;不过那跟他想和你有私人约会可是两码事。

所以,约会的时候,不要做个大女人。不要讨论工作,不要试图用你的商业头脑去打动他。不要展示你的辩论技巧,不要试图盖过他的意见。你或许觉得自己有能力、很现代、口才好、自信足、喜欢斗斗智什么的,不过在他看来你或许太好斗、爱争辩。他不是在找律师,他是在找女朋友!

我曾犯下的错误

我自己也是花了很多年、赔上了无数约会才搞明白这一点,因为我就是一个大女人。很多年里,我就是这样,把最初的约会看成商务晚宴一样,展示自己的独立性,表明我没有男人过得也很好。可是,你不需要男人不等于说你就一定要用这样的态度去主导你的约会。你的事业做得越大,你就越是无法不谈工作,无法只把自己当做一个女人、一个人。而你这样只会让他对这一点印象更为深刻。

那么该谈些什么呢?谈你个人的事情,你的家庭,你喜欢看的电影,你旅行去过的地方,你喜欢玩的东西。总之除工作之外的事情,什么都行。不过也别像进入了表演模式,要停下来问问他的情况。

看到这里,有些读者或许已经坐不住了。你可能会说:“可是Joy,我就是这样的啊!工作就是我的全部!我喜欢竞争,我喜欢讲工作。你难道想把女人都推回到欧洲中世纪的黑暗时期?”

我明白你的感受。这样的行为方式曾让我们获得奖赏。在工作场所,我们因为能力而获得赏识,还有——对了,因为我们像男人。可在工作之外,这个世界又要求我们把开关调到“女人”挡,这不公平吧?

这要看你怎么想了。如果做女人意味着美好、亲切,用女性的柔情与另外一个人相连,那这个要求就不能算不公平,这对任何一种关系来说都是好行为

停止取悦男人,学会接受好男人的爱

一个好男人或许不会喜欢头脑简单、木讷、幼稚的女人,但他也不见得就想找个工作伙伴放在家里。他不会带同事一样的女人去度一个迷人的假期,也不会想跟这样的女人亲热。他只会跟她就公司战略展开辩论。他尊敬她,但他工作一整天之后,不会愿意回到家还要面对这样的人。

他在寻找他梦中的女人,一个他爱恋、原意为之努力奋斗的女人。所以不要试图让他相信你值得他爱。你就是值得他爱的。你是女王!他应该想要配得上你!对于成功女性来说,恋爱之所以困难重重,主要的原因之一就是,我们需要学会停止取悦男人,而要学会去接受好男人的爱。

任何时候,当你太在意是否得到一个人的认可,就会失去那个人对你的尊重。你要让他来争取你的爱。

让早九点的你和晚九点的你不一样吧

你是个成功的女人,这就说明你有很强的能力修正自己的行为。正如你在工作中,在男人堆里不断修正自己的行为一样,现在,在工作之外,对相同的男人们,你也要改变自己的行为。

让早九点的你和晚九点的你不一样吧。想象一下将来有一天你怎样跟自己的孩子相处,或者你现在跟你的侄子、侄女是怎样相处的吧。你不会踩着耀眼的高跟鞋,穿着你的普拉达套装给他们演讲一番吧?不会的。你会甩掉高跟鞋,将他们包裹在你的爱意中。对不同的人,你展现着自己不同的侧面。跟他在一起的时候,让你内在的光华闪耀出来吧。

不要觉得不公平,生活中有更糟糕的事情。如果你让他像对待女王一样对待你,就不会感到你需要在美好的事业和美好的男人之间做出选择。你会两样同时享受。另外,在办公室里那么辛苦地工作之余,当一回“盛女”,打扮的漂漂亮亮地等待者一个好男人对你呵护备至,那感觉真是——好极了。

 

** LA的朋友们,我诚挚地邀请你们加入我近期的一个特别讨论会:关于我们的人生、就业和感情生活。我花了很多年来思考这些问题,并把自己的想法都写进了我的新书中,我也希望与你们一起讨论生活中的这些实际问题——这里面有我自己的痛和泪。这次讨论活动将用中文进行,对象是当代中国女性。想要在这里“偷学”女性心理的男生们,也欢迎你们加入。活动时间是3月30日星期五下午1:30 到3:30,地点在南加州大学。详细信息,请看这里

听陈愉用英文朗读这篇博文,请到Global Rencai的iTunes主页上订阅,收听及下载,请点击这里。阅读此博文英文链接,请点击这里。发表评论,请用中文。

 

讨论 9 responses

  • Joy,

    这次的博文很有意思!昨天在看到这篇博文以后,就把这个电影找来看。然后发现很巧合的事情是,电影里女主角叫Tang Weiwei,不停的听着电影里叫着“Weiwei”感觉是在叫自己一样,呵呵。

    认同你说的“任何时候,当你太在意是否得到一个人的认可,就会失去那个人对你的尊重。你要让他来争取你的爱。”大约,不论在爱情里还是生活的其它方面都是如此,需要切身努力追求过才会珍惜。所以说罗素才会写下“The Conquest of Happiness”,加布里尔·穆奇诺才会拍下“The Pursuite of Happiness”.

    周末愉快!

    Wei

  • weiwei: 真是一个愉快的巧合!相信你也是“盛女”一枚——我的意思是,鲜花盛开的美好女孩!感谢你的评论!

  • Joy:

    我是圣地亚哥州立大学的一名大三学生。一个机缘巧合,开始注意你的博文,开始喜欢你细腻的文字,你缜密的心思。也感谢你为女同胞们指明一个方向。尽管我才20岁,谈不上剩女,或者“盛女”, 但是你提到的一个观点我特别认同,在男人面前,不要太大女人了,不要过分展示自己的能力,自己的口才,男人不是想找一个生意上的伙伴,是要找一个温暖的家庭的港湾。我觉得这一点也适用于各类人际关系吧,和同性朋友在一起相处,我喜欢展示自己,表现自己的英文水平,其实这无形当中,会给她们造成一定的压力,觉得我不是很好相处。所以今后,我要多多注意这一点。

  • thanks for inspiring us, women in this new world. i was lazy to post anything, but keep reading your blog for a long time. however, i think i should let you know and give you support this time!

  • 谢谢你joy!

  • Joy,
    你的文章说出了我们中国内地大部分女人的心声,我们不敢说或者正在犹豫的事,但是你做了,如果我们中的大部分人早点看到你的文章,她们的命运一定会有不同,我庆幸我早一点遇到了你,因为我接受到了先进的教育,你是力量!I like you!

  • Hi Joy! I really enjoyed your reading. I would like to know your comments on the article in Atlantic which argued that women should give birth early so they can get back to work before it’s too late.

  • Hey Joy, it is so true that whenever I am talking to people I always portrait myself as independent, confident and capable. Of course I am proud of it, but at one point I realized I scared them of and they no longer treat or view me as a girl. Flexibility is the key point to switch yourself from work and dealing with the potential boyfriend. But i would say generally guys cannot handle/accept this kind of girls due to their ego. And females nowadays are getting more and more competent and independent, and seemingly guys are complaining about it. Sad fact

  • read your book and like your words, women in China need you badly!!!thanks!