Of men and women

Can’t stop talking about sexual harassment

When Song Shanmu was arrested in China for sexual harassment in May, blog readers asked me to write about what you should do when you are sexually harassed. My first reaction was, “No thanks!”

Song Shanmu’s anonymous sexual harassment victim

That’s because sexual harassment is a highly sensitive subject for the CEOs and HR chiefs who hire recruiters like me. It seemed financially unwise for me to blog about a subject that would annoy my clients.

Besides, I started this blog to provide simple and fun career tips, and when it comes to sexual harassment, nothing is simple or fun. I’d much rather write about whether you should sleep with your boss to get ahead.

But I did some research, and found that sexual harassment is a problem that faces 4 out of 5 women in China. I recalled back two decades to when I was sexually harassed. And I thought, with the profile I’ve been so lucky to build in my career, if I don’t stand up and speak publicly about this topic, who will?

Then, I struggled with what to write.

I know what corporate CEOs and HR chiefs would like for me to say, which is that if you are harassed, you should obediently report the incident to your company. But privately, my top-level friends acknowledged to me that claims of sexual harassment often lead to retaliation against the victims.

Finally, I muddled my way through a blog post, offering what was a decidedly imperfect solution. I posted it late on a holiday weekend, thinking it might slip by unnoticed.

China’s Media is Leading the Way on Sexual Harassment

Joy speaks on sexual harassment on China Radio International (click to listen)

But then, Xu Qinduo, host of Today on Beyond Beijing on China Radio International, and Ji Xiaojun, host of Crossover on CCTV News, each decided to devote an entire show to sexual harassment, and asked if I would be willing to be featured.  I do not want to be known as the Sexual Harassment Lady in China, but I did feel it important that two such respected national media leaders wanted to bring this subject out into the open. So, I agreed. You can access the resulting shows by clicking on the images at right.

Joy speaks on sexual harassment on CCTV News (click to watch)

I’ve been especially touched by the grateful emails from those blog readers and TV and radio listeners who are currently being victimized.

I also learned a lot from being on these shows. Here are my further thoughts on this subject:

  • Men are victims too, and in the States now comprise 16% of harassment claims. Most of these are cases of male-on-male harassment, but there are instances of female-on-male harassment as well.
  • On the CRI show, women’s rights attorney Zhang Weiwei celebrated the outcome of China’s first legal victory for a victim of sexual harassment. The woman won a RMB 3,000 (US$440) judgment against her boss, and then was fired for the litigation. My own feeling is that while this case may be a step forward for women’s rights in general, it was not a victory for her personally. As I noted in my earlier blog post, I believe that if you are harassed, your goal should be to stop the harassment without harming your career.
  • The biggest reason that workplace harassment has declined in the States is that when harassment occurs, companies are liable, and in the past two decades, several high-profile cases involving deep-pocketed employers and huge payouts to victims have led employers in general to implement internal reforms. In China, when a victim brings a claim against her harasser, only the harasser himself is responsible for his actions. While Song Shanmu is sitting in jail, his company now faces no legal consequences. I hope that China moves to hold companies liable for harassing behavior by their managers.

Great Companies are Built on Great Workplaces

I believe there are “carrot” and “stick” incentives for companies to prevent harassment in their ranks. The “stick” of legal reforms and the threat of lawsuits is important, but over time, the companies that win in the marketplace will be those that recruit and retain the best talent. And the best talent does not choose to work in abusive environments.

I look at my baby daughter Pip, who’s still only squeaking now. That’s her in the video. Watching her, and anticipating the arrival of her little sister this October makes me imagine the future that they’ll inhabit. Let’s stamp out abusive behavior when we see it around us, so that in another couple decades, when your children and my children enter the workplace, sexual harassment will be mostly a scourge of the past.

By joining hands to create strong workplace cultures, we can build – and lead – the great companies of the future.

Comments in English and Chinese are welcome, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

男女必知

不得不谈性骚扰

今年五月,当宋山木因性骚扰被捕的时候,“Global 人才”就有读者请我来谈 “当我被性侵犯时该怎么办?”的问题。我的第一反应是:“不,谢谢!”

宋山木性骚扰案的匿名受害者

一是因为:性骚扰对于我这样专业猎头的客户——CEO和HR主管而言是一个非常敏感的话题。如果因为写博客而得罪他们,对我来说并不是一个明智之举。

二是因为:我开这个博客的初衷是为大家提供一些简单而有趣的职场贴士。当性骚扰成为话题时就再也没有趣味和简单可言了。相比较来说,我更情愿写像“职场上升路是靠和上司睡出来的吗? ”这样的文章。

但是,之后我做了一些调查研究,并发现在中国每5位女性中就有4位曾遭遇性骚扰。这让我不由回忆起二十年前我亲身遭遇性骚扰时的情形。于是我就想,我在自己的职业发展中有幸能积累到目前的影响力,如果我不借此挺身而出并公开地谈论这个话题,又有谁会呢?

决定了写这个话题之后,我又遇到一个新的问题:写点什么呢?

我心里很清楚CEO和HR主管们希望我说,当你被侵犯了,你应当安静地将事情报告给你的公司。但私下里,我的高层朋友曾向我坦言举报性骚扰常常会招致报复。

最终,我匆匆写了一篇博客,提出了一些不很完善的解决方案。我在一个假期的周末把它发了出去,以为它会悄无声息地划过读者的视线。

中国媒体正在性骚扰问题上发挥领军作用

陈愉在中国国际广播电台就性骚扰问题发表看法(请点击收听)

然而,中国国际广播电台Beyond Beijing栏目中的专访节目Today的主持人许钦铎和中央电视台新闻频道Crossover节目主持人季小军相继决定用整场节目来做一期有关性骚扰的讨论,并问我是否愿意加入。我并不想在中国以“性骚扰专家”的形象而闻名,但我确实认同这两个在中国占领导地位的媒体,而把这样一个话题引入公众的视野也有十分重要的意义。因此,我同意了。感兴趣的读者可以通过点击右侧图片来观看节目详情。

这段时间里,很多博客读者和电视、广播的听众都给我写信表示感谢,而我也无时无刻不被她们感动。在她们中间,有些朋友正被性骚扰的问题所困扰。

陈愉在中央电视台新闻频道就性骚扰问题发表看法(请点击观看)

而我通过参与这些访谈节目也学到了很多。以下是我对这一话题更深入的思考:

  • 男性也可能是受害者。在美国,针对男性的性骚扰占到了所有举报案例的百分之十六。虽然大多数性骚扰事件多发生在男性对女性之中,但也有女性对男性的骚扰案例。
  • 在中国国际广播电台的节目里,女性权益律师张伟伟分享了中国首例性骚扰受害人胜诉的案例。这位女性受害人获得了法院判决她上司赔偿她的3000元人民币(约合美金440元),但随后却因诉讼而被辞退。我认为,这个案例总体上看可能是妇女权益的一次跨越,然而对受害人个人来说却称不上是胜利。正如我在之前的博文中所说,当你遇到性骚扰时,你的目标应该是在制止骚扰行为的同时不对你的职业发展造成损害。
  • 在美国,工作场所性骚扰事件逐渐减少的最大原因就是,当骚扰发生时,公司也负有连带责任。再加上在过去的二十年间,出现过几起案例引起高度社会关注,那些财大气粗的雇主最后向受害者支付了巨额赔偿金。这促使大多数雇主开始实施内部改革。然而在中国,当受害者举报骚扰者时,只有骚扰者一方对自己的行为负责。所以宋山木虽然被关进了铁窗,他的公司现在并没有受到任何法律制裁。我希望中国会逐渐发展到让公司为他们经理人的骚扰行为承担连带责任。

杰出的公司是建立在良好的工作环境之上的

我相信有一些“糖衣炮弹”和“大棒政策”式的激励方式能促使公司从内部成功预防性骚扰问题。这里的“大棒政策”是指法律改革和诉讼风险,这些都是很重要的。可就长远来看,在市场上取得卓越成就的公司将会是那些能够招募且留住优秀人才的公司,而那些最优秀的人才是不会选择在混乱的环境里工作的。

看着我那还在牙牙学语的宝贝女儿Pip (佩尼洛普的昵称)。视频里的就是她。看着她,感受着仍在腹中活动的二女儿,我开始想象她们的未来生活。让我们在遇到那些不良行为时即消灭它们,那么在接下来的几十年后,当你我的孩子步入职场时,性骚扰问题就将成为明日黄花。

大家携手努力营造良好的工作环境,我们一定能建立和引领更强大的公司。

Discussion

4 Responses to “不得不谈性骚扰”

  1. 有道理。我想不管在中国还是美国,这都是一个很严重的问题。我们不仅应该增强法律意识,更应该注意自身,如穿着打扮。

    就国内来讲的话,很多人怕遭辞退、报复,因此隐瞒不报,这样的结果就是可能受到更多的骚扰,有苦说不出。

    我今后遇到这种事情的时候不能嘴软,一定要拿起法律来维护自己的权益。

    Posted by MyCelestial | 2010-07-20, 02:41
  2. 中国在这方面的法律还太不完善。希望快点有人出来制定这样的法律

    Posted by 张孟 meng zhang | 2010-08-01, 15:30
  3. 您好 陈老师 很喜欢看你的博文 欣赏你的才干

    Posted by gentle | 2014-08-18, 23:55

Post a Comment