Modern life Q&A

Boyfriend a video-game addict / Setting career goals / Becoming mature

Modern Life Q&A is a weekly advice column on the Global Rencai blog where Joy Chen answers readers’ questions about life, work and love.

Boyfriend a video-game addict

Q:  My boyfriend and I have been together for five years since college. In college we had so much in common, but since then we’ve fought a lot. I am very ambitious and am working hard to build my career, but he’s satisfied working at low-end jobs so he can focus on his real passion, which is sitting around all day playing video games. He’s become so lazy, but I’m sick of nagging. How do I motivate him to get a decent career so we can build a life together?

A:  Women everywhere try to change (improve) the men they’re with. But I’m going to save you some time and effort and let you know that *You Cannot Change a Man *. Your boyfriend probably likes his life or else he would change it himself. What you need to do is to ask yourself whether he’s husband material for you. If like most women you are marriage-minded, try to avoid spending your 20s involved in long-term relationships which don’t lead to marriage. Better to focus on improving yourself, and meeting guys with whom you share long-term values and a common vision for the type of future you would like to achieve together.

If you feel that you and your boyfriend do not share common values, then cut back on your time with him and meet some new friends. If that scares him into realizing that he loves you so much that he wants to shape up and become the type of man you need him to be, then great. As he evolves, and as you evolve, you both can continue to assess whether you two belong together for a lifetime. If he doesn’t shape up and evolve into the type of man you want, then better to know that sooner rather than later. Today’s photo is from the Association of Pretty Women Who Broke Up With Boyfriends Due to Their Addiction to Video Games. You can join this association by clicking here.

Setting career goals

Q:  I am a 22-year-old girl majoring in Law. My dream is to be licensed and then be my own boss. However, I am not sure about what to do specifically and I am afraid of the failure caused by hasty decisions. I think that I should first have a cool head and a clear goal and then set about realizing the goal. So far I have felt that I dream too big while I am not proactive and hardworking enough in practice. What do I lack? Experience, or courage? What should I do? Please give me some advice.

A:  I’ve written a lot about how to find the right career; you can read a sampling of those posts here . In summary, stop worrying about finding the single right path for the next 50 years, because if you’re like everyone else in your generation, you’ll more likely have five or eight different careers over your lifetime. The economy is shifting so rapidly that in ten years there will be career options available that nobody has even imagined now, and even if you stay in the same career, the nature of that work will shift radically thanks to technology and globalization. So, your longterm strategy should be to position yourself for changing times, by developing the skills you need to excel. Also, identify and hone your A+ skills; you do this by paying close attention to when you achieve flow in whatever job you’re in, and making more of those moments. As you do these things, you will naturally gravitate toward projects, opportunities, and ultimately, jobs and careers, which best leverage you and make you happiest.

Becoming mature

Q:  Joy I like your blog and have given thought to some topics you blogged about. Currently I am worried that I don’t mature as fast as I want. What can I do?

A: Maturity does come with age. Medical studies have shown that negative emotions such as stress and anger decline after the early 20s, and people over 50 worry less than younger people. Being young is stressful! Things are new and confusing, and sometimes just the fact of having so many choices creates anxiety. You can hurry along the process of maturity by continuously exposing yourself to new ideas and new people, and reflecting and learning from all your experiences.

You might also reach out to develop friendships with older people. My own life has been greatly enriched over the years with a few deep friendships with women older and wiser than me . These friendships-across-generations can be a rich source of both learning and fun. I recommend them to you!

I welcome your comments, in Chinese or English, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

Related Blog Posts

“现代生活”专栏

男友是个电玩控/设置职业目标/变成熟

现代生活Q&A是“Global 人才”博客上的一个每周性的建议性专栏,在这里Joy会回答读者们提出的关于现代生活的问题。

电玩控男友

Q: 我和男友从大学开始就在一起,至今恋爱五年了。大学时我们有很多共同点,但毕业后就争吵不断。我很有上进心,努力工作,建立事业,而他满足于低档次的工作,以便专注于他真正的激情之所在——那就是整天坐在家里玩电子游戏。他变得非常懒,我又不想在他身边唠叨了。我要如何鼓动他追求一个体面的事业,然后共同打造我们的生活?

A: 世界各地的女人们都在试着驯化与之共处的男人。但是我想为你们节省一点时间和精力,让你们了解认识到“男人不可雕也。”你的男友也许会由于喜欢他的生活或别的什么而主动作出改变。你需要做的就是问自己他是不是做老公的料。如果你和大多数女人一样,思维方式是“时刻为婚姻准备着,”那么20岁时就试着不要陷入那些无法通向婚姻的长期恋爱关系中。而最好专注于发展你自己,和那些与你共享长远价值观的和对要达到的未来设想一致的男人约会

如果你觉得你和男友没有共同的价值观,那就缩短和他在一起的时间,去见一些新朋友。如果那么做会吓到他,让他意识到自己爱你很深、愿意重整旗鼓成为你希望看到的男人,那就再好不过了。随着他不断成长,也随着你不断成长,你们都可以继续评估你们两个人是否适合共度一生。如果他无动于衷,没有改良成为你想看到的那个类型,那早知道也比晚知道好。今天的照片就来自MM反魔兽联盟,号召和电玩控男友分手的美女组织。点击这里,你就能加入。

设置职业目标

Q:我是一个22岁的法律专业女生。我的理想是拿到律师执照后自己做自己的老板。但具体要做什么,又不确定。害怕一头雾水乱撞后的失败。我认为应该有清晰的头脑、明确的目标后再去做一件事情。目前我觉得自己思想狂妄而行为上又没有底气。我欠缺的是什么?经验,还是勇气?我该如何做?请您给我建议。

A: 我已经写了很多关于如何找到适合你的职业的博文,要读例文,请点击这里。总结起来说,就是不要烦心于寻找单一的一条能搞定未来人生50年的正确道路,因为如果你和同龄人差不多,那么你可能一生中要从事5到8份不同的职业。经济瞬息万变,10年后可能存在今人无从想象的职业选择,而即使你停留于同样的职业,工作的本质也可能随着时间的推移而迅速改变,这一切都归因于技术革新和全球化。所以,你的长期策略应该是把自己放在变幻的时代中,锤炼你想要做到顶尖的技能。同时,界定和发展你的A+技能;方法是仔细观察自己在各种工作中何时可以获得心流,并且尽可能地多创造一些这样的时刻;当你做这些事时,你将自然而然地靠近那些最能够使你成长、最让你快乐的项目和机会——直至工作和事业。

Q:Joy, 我喜欢你的博客,也思考过你博文中写到的一些话题。现在我烦恼的是自己成长得没有希望得那么快。我该怎么办?

A:成熟的程度的确随着年龄而增长。医学研究显示消极情绪比如压力和愤怒会在20岁出头后减少,50岁以上的人忧虑的程度低于较年轻的人。年轻就是压力大!很多事都很陌生,很令人困惑,有时候单单是选择众多这个事实就会滋生焦虑。要想加快成熟的进程,你可以不断地将自己暴露在新想法、陌生人面前,然后通过这些经历来反思、学习。

你也许还可以去和年长一些的人发展友谊。多年来,和一些比我年长、比我智慧的女性结下的深层次友谊就极大地丰富了我的人生。这些跨代友谊不仅是学习、还是欢乐的丰富源泉。我推荐你也尝试那样的友谊!

此博客的英文版请点击如下链接

相关博文

Discussion

One Response to “男友是个电玩控/设置职业目标/变成熟”

  1. 很多事都很陌生,很令人困惑,有时候单单是选择众多这个事实就会滋生焦虑。说的真好!

    Posted by Teresa | 2011-08-10, 20:09

Post a Comment