How to get the job

A blog is better than a resume

People often ask me, “My resume is what I HAVE done in the past, but how do I communicate what I CAN do in the future?” The best way is to start a blog.

Here’s some advice from blogger Penelope Trunk:

“For your career, a blog is essential. It’s the new public relations and it’s the new home page,” says college professor Phil van Allen.

“Instead of a static home page, you have your blog. It’s a way to let people know what you are thinking about the field that interests you…. But pick your topics carefully and have a purpose. The most interesting blogs are focused and have a certain attitude. You need to have a guiding philosophy that you stick to. You cannot one minute pontificate on large issues of the world and the next minute be like, ‘My dog died.’”

You can check out her full post, but here are the most important points:

  1. Blogging creates a network. A blogger puts himself out in the world as someone who is interesting and engaging — just the type of person everyone wants to meet. A blog increases your network because a blog is about introducing yourself and sharing information.
  2. Blogging is great training. Blogging will force you to really get to know your topic well.
  3. Blogging helps you move up quickly. To escape the entry-level grind, you can either pay your dues, working up a ladder forever, or you can establish yourself as an expert in the world by launching a blog.
  4. Blogging provides more opportunities. Building brands, changing careers, launching a business — these endeavors are much easier once you’ve established yourself online. A blog gives you a leg up when you meet someone new.
  5. Blogging makes the world a better place. “Blogging is about giving stuff away to a community,” says software consultant Ben Day. “For years, as a junior developer, I would go to the Internet for solutions and I would always take, take, take. Now I am happy to be a contributor and give something back.”

Trunk writes:

Believing in yourself and creating avenues for your own success attracts a magnificent network of supporters.

So, blogging is a great way to buff up both your Image and your Exposure, from the Performance-Image-Exposure framework which is key to the GlobalRenCai blog.

Blogging Makes You a Better Thinker and Communicator

But blogging also can be an important way to develop your Performance, since becoming a deeper and broader thinker is key to high performance in the knowledge economy. Ben Casnocha writes:

You have to … capture what you experience and sort it out; only in this way can you hope to use it to guide and test your reflection, and in the process shape yourself as an intellectual craftsman. But how can you do this? One answer is: you must set up a blog…

In such a blog … there is joined personal experience and professional activities, studies under way and studies planned. In this blog, you … will try to get together what you are doing intellectually and what you are experiencing as a person. Here you will not be afraid to use your experience and relate it directly to various work in progress. Once noted, these may lead to more systematic thinking, as well as lend intellectual relevance to more directed experience.

…The blog also helps you build up the habit of writing. … In developing the blog, you can experiment as a writer and this, as they say, develop your powers of expression.

Blogging helps you become both a better thinker, and a better expresser of your ideas, both powerful skills that will drive your career.

The First Rule of Blogging: Just Do It

The first objection people have when I suggest they start a blog is, “I can’t possibly make the time for that.”  Don’t be intimidated. Just start writing. There are many free software programs out there. My favorite, and the one I use for this blog, is WordPress. You don’t have to commit to writing any number of posts per week. You could start off with one a month, just to collect your thoughts on the field you’d like to become an expert in.

Your resume is about what you have done in the past. Your blog is all about your future.

There are many free resources out there to help you get started. If there are any that you find helpful, please list them in the Comments below. And, if you’ve started your own blog, I invite you to tell us what it’s about and to include the link in the Comments section of this post.

Comments in English and Chinese are welcome, on the Chinese version of this blog post, which is here.

如何得到理想的工作

一个博客胜过一份简历

人们常常问我:“我的简历说的都是我以前做过的事情,我如何才能展现我将来的可能性呢?”我认为最好的办法是开始写博客。

这是博客作者 Penelope Trunk的建议

“如果是为你的事业发展着想的话,写博客是很有用的。这是一种新的公关方式,也可以看作是新的个人主页。” Phil van Allen教授说。

“传统的个人主页是静止的,但是现在你有博客了,这能让其他人知道你在想什么,你对什么感兴趣。。。但是选择博客的主题得慎重,而且要围绕一个明确的目的。最有意思的博客往往是主题明确集中的,而且能反映你的态度。你的思路必须保持一致性。你不能一下对国际大事发表评论,一下又对生活私事抒情感怀,例如’我的狗死了’,这样的琐事。”

你可以仔细去看看她的完整的博客,但是下面这些是其中最重要的东西:

  1. 博客有助于创造社交网。在别人看来,一个写博客的人是有趣的,人们都希望认识有趣的人。写博客有助于扩大关系网,让别人认识你,你也可以向大家分享信息。
  2. 博客是一个很好的思维锻炼。写博客能促你不断地学习。
  3. 博客有助你快速进步。要摆脱一直处在初级阶段的无聊状态,你要么按部就班地拾级而上,要么在博客上让自己成为一个专家。
  4. 博客能给你创造更多机会。创造你的品牌,转换你的职业,开创你的事业——一旦你在网络上占有一席之地后,这些会变得更加容易。博客能在你和陌生人见面时助你一臂之力。
  5. 博客能让身世界变得更好。“写博客也是大家做贡献。”软件咨询师 Ben Day说。他说:“当我还是年轻的程序员的时候,在很长一段时间里,我总是在网络上寻求解决问题的方法。我总是不断地索取。现在我很高兴我也能做些贡献,回报大家了。”

Trunk写道:

相信你自己并创造助你成功的平台,这会吸引很多支持者并创造出一个强大的网络。

所以,写博客能帮助你提升形象和曝光度,从埋头苦干展现实力,到完善形象,到增加曝光度,这个模式也是GlobalRenCai主要探讨的东西。

写博客能让你更好的思考和沟通

而写博客也有助于你提高实力,因为提高思维的广度和深度是增强实力的关键。 Ben Casnocha在博客里写道

你得……理解你经历的东西并分门别类,只有这样你才能让它去指引和检验你的思考,并在这个过程中把自己锻炼成一个智者。但是你怎么能做到这个呢?答案是:你得赶快开始写博客。。。

在这个博客里,有你的个人经历和职业活动,你在研究或是将要研究的东西。在这个博客里,你……你要试图把你的思考和你的个人经历结合起来。在博客里,你可以大胆地把你的经历和你正在做的各项工作联系起来。而一旦意识到这个,这将更有助于你系统性地思考问题,同时也有助于你更加勤于思考。

……写博客也有助于培养写作的习惯……在写博客的过程中,你能体验作家的感受并培养你的表达能力。

写博客第一条:先做起来

写博客能帮助你更好地思考和表达,而这两项技能将有助于你的事业。

当我建议别人写博客的时候,人们常常马上就打退堂鼓:“我没有时间去做那事。”不要害怕,先做起来。有很多软件可以帮助你完成这个事。我最喜欢用的软件是Wordpress,这也是我写这个博客用的软件。你并不一定要给自己规定一周得写多少篇。你可以试着先一个月写一篇,找到你感兴趣的领域,慢慢积累这方面的思考。

你的简历是关于你以前做过的东西,而你的博客是关于你的未来。

你能找到许多免费的资源指导你怎样开始。如果你知道任何这方面的有用信息,请把它们列到下面的评论栏里。或者,如果你已经在写博客了,我希望你们能和我们分享你的博客内容,并把链接告诉我们。

Discussion

12 Responses to “一个博客胜过一份简历”

  1. Terrific. Best wishes with your career and your blog – feel free to come back and let us know the link and we’ll all check it out! Joy

    Posted by 陈愉 Joy Chen | 2010-08-02, 22:59
  2. It’s useful!

    I began blogging in Chinese from my first college year, and I feel my Chinese writing skills improved so much:) I feel necessary to have an English one also, since I am in US now, and I need to find a job after graduation:)

    Posted by MyCelestial | 2010-08-02, 14:14
  3. I am a student in my third year in Soochow University ,I’ve never heard about getting yourself improve by writting blogs.I wonder if I could have a try.For instance,I write my blog about accounting which is my major.

    Posted by Janemy | 2010-12-04, 18:33
  4. hi, 看了你的文章收益非浅.其实我也会有时写写东西.但我觉得其实blog更重要的意义是写给自己的.那是所有思想的记录,你在这个社会中存在的证明,或者说是你在你自己灵魂中存在的证明.
    by the way, 你那篇30岁以后结婚的文章绝对应该让所有80,或者90后正要结婚的人看看.让大家知道什么是追求,什么是目标,什么叫what i really want!!
    anyway, i love ur blog! best wishes from germany!
    rui

    Posted by rui Li | 2011-05-18, 14:31
  5. Hi, Joy, I’ve learnt a lot from your blog. Thank you for sharing the experience with us. Blogging is a good suggestion, but it’s really hard to write consistently especially when you are lack of audience.

    Posted by Lu DONG | 2011-10-02, 09:34
  6. 博客真是一个好东西,让我去思考,表达,展现自己,并在这个过程中通过展示和沟通建立联系,获得进一步的成长!大家来写博客,走起~

    Posted by 张云鹏 | 2011-10-07, 06:42
  7. 非常鼓舞人心,看完你的文章,自己有点无地自容,好像自己确实从来没有认认真真专研过什么,可以用文字清晰表达。

    Posted by Bonnie | 2012-11-05, 00:39
  8. nur wahlt man zum Beschlage des ausseren,

    Posted by price cialis | 2012-11-16, 00:52
  9. 用博客做简历是一个长期的过程。在简历中加入博客元素显得更加专业。

    Posted by 淘职网 | 2012-12-18, 22:56
  10. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I?m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Posted by Deca durabolin 50 mg | 2013-02-22, 09:53

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] 前些日子看了一篇博客文章(《[BetterExplained]书写是为了更好的思考》),是关于为什么我们需要开始书写记录下我们的思想。看完以后很有感觉,总觉得应该开始写点什么东西,所以强迫自己写的东西出来,这也许也是一种强迫自己去思考的方法吧。觉得应该开始注重积累和记录自己的思想,这个文章与我之前在GlobalRencai网站上看到的《一个博客胜过一份简历》关于为什么我们需要开通自己的博客来提高自己的网络形象对我的感觉很相似。这两篇文章给我最大的感触就是让我觉得我以后应该多多的写一些文章,特别是专业方面的文章。 […]

Post a Comment